We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveller rating
1,677
399
114
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,677
399
114
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bookstore bar spa suite pike place market wine hour pioneer square seattle art museum boutique hotel front desk staff ferris wheel happy hour mini bar bottle of champagne few blocks an upgrade wonderful hotel we've stayed king room
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Dark. Disorganized. Dirty. The kind of place where you don’t want to walk around in your room in barefeet. The Alexis Hotel in Seattle is in poor condition: Small ugly bathrooms. Cheap furniture. A fitness center with broken treadmills. A WIFI connection that does not work. Room keys that operate one day; but not the next. Unglazed windows that rattle from sirens, motorcyles, construction trucks, giant construction booms across the street. Good location, but the hotel itself – part hotel, part grungy former condo – is decrepid. Dingy corridors. Musty smell. A well meaning but incompetent front desk. Jacuzzi bathtubs that no longer work. Gimmicky “giveaways” like Alexa devices that do not function. Hospitality hoaxes like bottled water placed next to the bed (instead of mints) for which unsuspecting guests are charged $8 a piece. No turndown service. “Free” amenities such as wine in the lobby at 5 PM for which guests are later charged a $17 per day amenity fee. Kimpton sullies its name with this property. At $500+ per night, The Alexis Hotel is a hospitality hoax: Just read the arrogant management response to criticism on this website. Defensive. Disdainful. Deceptive.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. If you get stuck here, insist on staying in a the original hotel. Not the former condos
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Leloir! The location of the property has always been one of the great success stories for the property. You can pretty much walk anywhere in the city you want to from our front door including the much under appreciated waterfront which is only a block away. I appreciate all your comments about the property and the responses to previous reviews. My goal is to always ensure that the reader understands all sides of a review. For some reason your vision was different than so many other guests and I do feel badly that your stay was less than you hoped. Come back soon and give us another try and join the many folks who found the property everything they wanted.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Leanne went and beyond expectations. My Wife chose to stay at The Alexis for her 50th birthday & Night out with her girlfriend's. I am at work on the gulf coast and could not join her. I spoke with Leanne to arrange for a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine set up as a birthday suprise for my wife.
She did so much more and the Flowers are Beautiful, it truly made my Wife's Birthday Wonderful.
Thank You Heaps Leanne
Tim P. 8/10/18

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Timothy! Leanne is a true star, she always makes any guest experience A+ thanks for the note, you certainly made her day!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The Kimpton Alexis is a boutique hotel. The location is terrific, as the hotel is within an easy walk to Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square and the Waterfront, among other attractions. We had a suite, and the living room area was large and comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were smaller, though adequately sized. The WiFi signal was strong, although outlets were not abundant.

Service was excellent, and the restaurant is very good.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkP115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Mark! This hotel has 17 different room styles and being an old classic building - all rooms are different shapes and sizes. Makes every stay an adventure is how I like to look at it.. The wifi can fluctuate with the location of your room but it tends to be a good experience. We are in the midst of working on our new look for next year - and more outlets is top of the list! The team here have a great time and it shows in these reviews, they will be thrilled you mentioned it.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We had selected the Kimpton Alexis Hotel for the central location to the main tourist attractions and we found the location to be excellent because we like to simply walk to the local attractions vs. taxi or rental car. Only 6-minutes walk to the Underground Tour, 19-minutes to Pikes Place Market, 6-minutes walk to the Pier area ferries and Pier restaurants - so convenient! There are great restaurants all around the Alexis hotel that we did not even bother with the hotel restaurant.

The check-in service was fast and easy. Free WIFI for IHG Platinum members like ourselves and the WIFI speed was very good. The Hotel offers iced water in the lobby in the afternoons and free coffee in the mornings - very nice feature.

As for our accommodations, we had reserved one of the Executive Suites to give ourselves a well deserved treat, and we were not disappointed - the room was HUGE, comfortable and clean. Our suite was on the second floor and did not have the large glass windows in the living room overlooking the city but it did have a great looking skylight over-head the huge meeting table (see attached photos). This large table area is where we had our morning coffee - either made fresh from the in-room Kurig or purchased from the near-by Starbucks. The living room has a huge sectional sofa and there is a large flat-screen TV on the wall - very nice touch!

Adjacent to the living room, there is a handy half-bath which is convenient for guests who comes by to visit or have a meeting. Even the half-bathroom was more spacious than most half-baths that I have seen.

As for the master bedroom, what can I say? Simply HUGE and COMFORTABLE. We have stayed at many high-end hotels and this was one of the nicer bedrooms. The bedding was very comfortable - we slept right away. The master bathroom is again HUGE and very nice - large shower and separate Jacuzzi bathtub. Nice quality toiletries as expected from a high-end hotel.

Upon check-out, the front desk was very courteous, fast and efficient. Even as we were leaving, the bell-desk person asked if we needed transportation to the airport? We had indicated that we may need a Taxi or UBER. However, the bell-desk person offered a Cadillac Escalade service for about the same price as UBER - of course we accepted and we were again happy with the Kimpton Alexis service.

We had stayed at the Alexis for four (4) nights and enjoyed it the whole time - 5-Star rating from me - no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks for this AZ. The Hotel location has always been one of the great assets, the other one is the team who works here and then there is a classic look and feel to the building. Check out any of the other Kimptons in the city - kimptonhotels.com - many of our hotels have been created from alternative use buildings and that is what allows each Kimpton to tell a story. The hotel provides a different look and feel to all the other 'beige' hotels out there and then we add on a restaurant that people want to talk about and you have a winner.
Your room was one of the largest and as mentioned, we have 17 different room styles. Delighted you could use and enjoy all that space!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Booked through a third party last minute for a getaw ay night. We ate downstairs at The Bookstore which is super convenient for this hotel's guests. The room exceeded my expectations. It was impeccable and very beautiful. The employees were very warm at check in and check out. We were not charged the amenities fee, because I asked about a noise we heard at night...but, after we left the hotel, I realised what the noise had been. It was construction work on the high-rise a block away. Pneumatic tools sound like helicopters and unbalanced washing machines from a distance. I know to bring earplugs when staying in the city, but forgot them this time. I probably could have even gotten some from guest services if I had thought to ask!
I am happy to give a 5 star review to this hotel. I only hope I am lucky enough to stay there again soon!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Undrwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Underwrtr. What a nice note. - Yep there are 63 'cranes' in the city and we are building all around us - general big city noises and we are thankful for the double paned windows! Come back soon, check out the programs, specials and great rates at Kimptonhotels.com - things change everyday.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews