We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,533)
Filter reviews
2,533 results
Traveller rating
1,320
734
280
138
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,320
734
280
138
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free beer craft beer record player happy hour miller's guild great location rooms are small honor bar fun hotel hip hotel cool vibe every evening attached restaurant within walking distance enjoyed my stay business trip space needle
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,533 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel Max has a fun funky flair with excellent staff packed into a tiny space built in the 20’s. From the first greeting I felt welcome, the staff was exceptional and completely customer service oriented.

If you’re expecting rooms the size of a Hilton you may just want to stay there instead. These rooms are cozy but the perfect size for a business trip or an overnighter. If you’re staying there for business don’t expect a desk or a ton of work space - save your work for the office.

The age of the hotel doesn’t lend itself to sound proofing so there is some residual noise from the street and adjoining rooms but all in all it didn’t prevent me from getting a goodnight sleep. You are staying downtown after all and honestly should expect some level of noise from the street.

Put your oversized expectations aside and enjoy the unique flair of this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank troyw880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Troy,

Thanks for staying at the Max and posting your review. I will share your feedback with the staff. I couldn't agree with you more, the staff at the Max provides personalized and genuine service. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Could be a good hotel depending on your room allocation but we got a room next to the main exhaust chimney for heat/AC and it was a terrible loud hum nearly all night. Great meal in Millers though. Very glad only quick overnight stay on way to Vancouver so check your room placement. At least noise meant we were awake & checked out early & got to train station with time to spare

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Helen,

We are sorry to hear noise interrupted your otherwise great stay. We do offer a wide variety of room types and locations. We look forward to you giving us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Location, staff, and service were perfect. Amazing art all around and breathing the history of Seattle music scene. Lots of fun art and memorabilia to look around. Rooms are really comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Roger,

Thank you for staying at the Max! We couldn't be more stoked that you were able to experience the hotel to the Max! Come back and stay again when you are back in Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I have spent 5 nights at this hotel and have grown to love it. It started off a bit rocky but the staff and manager worked hard to correct the problems and ensure I had the best possible stay. This is a heritage building so the rooms are quirky and not laid out like a conventional hotel but I do like that character. I stayed in 3 different rooms all of which were different. The hotel is stylish, unique, well kept, and clean. The service is friendly and professional. They serve free beer in the lobby at 5:00 and the on-site restaurant served me the best burger I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 556jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi there,

We are stoked to have hosted your stay. Also, great to hear our team was able to rectify your stay and deliver a 5 star experience. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Artsy, quirky, modern, comfy, and clean! We stayed a night recently during a busy event weekend in Seattle, so they were not able to offer us the early check-in we requested, but they offered luggage storage, which was really the only reason we needed an early check-in anyways. Yay! That option made it so easy for us to go explore the area. We were within decent walking distance to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, and all of the other wonderful shops and restaurants down town.
The staff was beyond pleasant and helpful and we loved that they offered a happy hour with free craft beer and board games. It was a fun way to chat with new people, and an awesome way for us to "pregame" our night on the town. The coffee and tea service in the morning was also appreciated, and very well done.
Important to mention, especially for those of you "traditionalists" looking for a place to stay... be sure to read thoroughly what type of room you are reserving (they have a few options!) We stayed in a rather small room, and were originally a little put-off by the way things were set up (separate shower room and toilet room, very little space to move around or spread out) I definitely see this as my own fault though, having not done any research before reserving, and just chose the cheapest available option on short notice, expecting something more traditional. That being said, we ended up totally loving the set up and how cozy everything felt. Besides that, the room was immaculately clean, the bed was unbelievably comfortable, and we didn't feel like it was noisy at all (like I read in some other reviews)- and we are totally not used to city noises at night. The wifi was strong, the AC and heat both worked well (yes, we used both.. gotta love fall in the PNW!), and the mini bar (although we didn't utilize it) was very well stocked, and a nice touch! Thanks for an amazing stay, Hotel Max! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amongwildflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim P, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for staying with us and the great review! We are stoked that you found your jam at the Max. We do offer a variety of room types to accommodate all kinds of guest needs. Feedback like yours keeps us inspired to get better each day. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Max!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews