We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
1,739
600
150
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
600
150
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour gold fish monte carlo suite front desk happy hour complimentary wine pike place market mini bar few blocks housekeeping staff wonderful hotel king bed valet parking heart of downtown pioneer square light rail location was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Love the Kimpton properties. This one about a 20 minute walk from Pike Place Market — which means it’s in a quieter part of town but still within walking distance of tourist attractions. Our third-floor room was surprisingly quiet, even on a Monday morning, but I do recommend the higher floors for light sleepers. Warning, some rooms are quite close to the elevators — avoid them. Also, note that the elevators require a room key before pushing the up button (and there is one elevator reserved for the premium rooms). Wine service nice but wine quality low. Hotel service friendly and helpful. WiFi free for Kimpton members; easy to join.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenneO2, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

We do our best to be an oasis in the heart of the city....happy to hear that you felt like you could sleep soundly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed here for 1 night post cruise. We arrived very early at around 7am and the hotel were great about storing our luggage and notifying us by text when our room was ready. We found the staff to be super friendly and very accommodating.

Our room was great - it was very modern and had all of the amenities that a traveller - business or otherwise - would need. I particularly liked all of the outlets that they provided for charging our devices. A lot of thought was put into the setup and design of the room.

We had a comfortable night's stay at this place and they even arranged our early transportation to the airport the next morning. Everything worked out great with our stay and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenneO2, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Sounds like a great trip, we always recommend adding a few days post cruise to enjoy the city. Glad we were a great resting place for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a quick one night trip, our check-in was smooth and room was clean. Wine hour was nice as well. Valet was very friendly and quick with getting our car at checkout. Hotel has extra security measures since you have to use your room key to use the elevator which we appreciated. Recommend!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cmats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenneO2, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

It's hard to make an impression in only one night - glad you enjoyed your quick stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Came to Seattle with family and stayed at Kimpton for 4 nights. We were surprised by a treat provided by the hotel as a welcome gift. We stayed in a suite which was very large, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are quite small and our sink/shower were not the best. The front desk is very helpful and we really enjoyed the wine cocktail hour.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyne508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenneO2, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Happy Birthday robyne508 - glad we could be part of your celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I came to Seattle with my 13 year old son, who I'd convinced to join me for the Boeing tour, on the basis I would also show him the Amazon HQ and Microsoft (he drew the line at visiting the original Starbucks). Not knowing Seattle or where to stay, I was delighted to receive a recommendation for this hotel.
Having arrived in the morning, it was quite understandable that our room wasn’t yet available, but we were assured by Elias at the front desk that the 8th floor room would be worth the half hour wait. We popped out for lunch and on our return an hour later, were given the key to a 2nd floor room.
As it was just my son and I, we gladly accepted it. Had my wife been with us, we would have no doubt spent the rest of the day visiting and subsequently declining several other rooms due to their directional facing, lighting, proximity to the elevator, layout, unsuitable neighbours etc.
Anyway…the hotel is smallish and pleasant-ish - but ‘ish’ is about as far as it goes. I can’t say it oozed personality or that it’s memorable in any way that’s positive. But it’s not too negative either.
Once we’d overcome the arctic air and managed to turn off the air-conditioning, we were aware of how nicely decorated our room was, with the obligatory large-screen TV, over-priced mini-bar, selection of tourism magazines that no-one reads - and enough cushions and pillows on the bed that removing them all delayed our bedtime by some quarter of an hour.
What it lacked was a couple of bottles of complimentary water, which would have been nice - particularly because the air was so dry.
The beds were comfortable enough, but had a unique - and rather unpleasant - duvet which appeared to just lay between (rather than in) a couple of sheets. This meant, unless you remained motionless the entire night, all parts separated, resulting in a mass of sheets and confusion of what bit goes where.
Our room had an interconnecting door to another, in which - by the sound of it - the occupants were hard of hearing and could only communicate by shouting.
Fortunately, after 2 nights, they left, although the person replacing them rose at 6:30am for a shower. Nothing wrong with that you might think - except the shower was so loud, for one horrific moment, I thought he was in ours.
He obviously enjoyed his shower, because he spent some 30 minutes in there, by which time we were wide awake and busying ourselves with trying to reassemble the bed coverings. Eventually, we gave up and decided to embrace the day. We turned the TV on, which I can only assume woke the occupants in the room on our other side, prompting them to rise too.
In fact, it’s likely, thanks to our neighbours early morning shower, the entire hotel arose before 7am.
As we chose to have breakfast on the go, we only visited the restaurant once during our stay - in search of a simple pizza or pasta - something I’d expect not to be too taxing to offer.
At first appearance you could be forgiven for thinking this was a Sports bar, with it’s large TVs competing with the loud(ish) rock music and long bar to one side - but the menu was at odds with the surroundings, with offerings of over-complicated, over-priced dishes that appealed to neither of us.
After some negotiation, they managed to prepare a ‘simple’ pizza, which considering they had a pizza oven, should have been on offer anyway.
Location-wise, the hotel was perfect, being within a pleasant walking distance of every downtown attraction, although I would recommend anyone heading to the waterfront would be best walking towards Pike Place before turning left, unless you have the ability to walk at 45 degrees….
Finally, during our 4 night stay, we interacted with a number of staff on the front desk - all of whom were pleasant, helpful and friendly, but our golden award goes to Elias!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpyBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenneO2, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for the review GrumpyBugger - love your user name BTW. It sounds like a great trip with your son, and I appreciate the detailed feedback. We do believe that the service is one of the most important things, so I am glad that we did make a positive impression on that note. We are always looking to improve, and all of your comments will be used to help us with future projects to make our guests more comfortable (we are replacing the mattresses right now!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews