We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
balcony from sitting room with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
balcony from sitting room with sea view
dining area leads to balcony sitting room with log fire and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
balcony from sitting room with sea view
dining area leads to balcony
sitting room with log fire and sea views
terrace gound level from family room
kitchen leading onto top terrace
Chataignier
ground floor family room opens onto terrace
top terrace access to kitchen
shower room top floor
double bedroom top floor sea view
bathroom level one
master bedroom level 2 sea view
view of house balcony with sea view
twin bedroom level one sea view
marble staircase to bedrooms
Beach near house
nearby beach
la maison
beach near house 8 minute walk
Beach
Port Rhu , Douarnenez
douarnenez at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Douarnenez, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Buncey50
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful and relaxing family holiday at Le Chataignier. Vicky, the owner, was so helpful and provided us with all the information we required to make the most of our holiday. Karine, the housekeeper, was so warm and friendly and the house was so clean and comfortable. We so appreciated all the thoughtful touches which really helped to make this holiday so good. The house is in a lovely location and we really enjoyed exploring the surrounding area. The nearby beach is stunning and the local town provides everything you may need including some lovely restaurants. We just wanted to say how much we appreciated all the hard work that Vicky and Karine did to enable us to have such a lovely holiday and provide us with such cherished memories, thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazarinus
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house, quiet, close to beach”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Enjoyed our stay here. All very clean and beautifully presented. Lovely and quiet, at the end of a leafy lane. 10 minutes walk to great beach.

Would have liked a garden. Room in basement not really suitable as a bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Doors banging in the windd
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your feedback . I am delighted you enjoyed the house and the area. We do say that the fifth bedroom at group floor has no sea views and we regard it as a children's room, although the beds are adult beds and comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The photos of this house nearly do it justice! We arrived and were stunned at how wonderful the house is in reality.
We had two sets of grandparents, my wife and I and our 3 children (10,8 and 1) and it worked perfectly. There was more than enough room for us all. The house is an easy drive to douaranenez for shops and restaurants and the nearest beach is a short walk away.
We had a brilliant time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for lovely comments and appreciation of our house. It is good to have plenty of space on holiday so everyone can relax and do what they want ! I am so pleased your family enjoyed their holiday and we would love you to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Faultless....”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Still 3 days to go as I write this review but I cannot fault it. We have been so fortunate with the weather and the house has lived up to every expectation. It is a handsome neo-Breton style house with all the modern amenities we seem to require in our lives (that's not a complaint!!). Having wifi has been extremely helpful for me (to check business emails back home) and to do so with a view of the sea...what more can one ask for. A very short stroll to the sandy beach too. Utterly lovely. I shall miss waking up here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.I am delighted that you are enjoying your holiday in our home and have explored the lovely beaches and walks.We do not tire of the views and the beautiful coastline, and am so pleased that you have found it as enjoyable and the house comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MegP
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab U Lous”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful house in a lovely location with a stretching out view over the sea. Every comfort was catered for; lovely airy rooms, lots of comfy chairs, big tables for meals, TV and games area. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was equipped with everything you could need. The beds were so comfortable, and the bathrooms beautifully designed. I'm not sure what else to add; we had the most peaceful and restoring holiday in this graceful and warm home.

The area is beautiful, unspoiled with a glorious beach - the sun seemed to be there all through the day until 8.00pm. We enjoyed the lovely restaurants in Douarnenez, interesting shops - ceramicists, jewellry, art - all there. Make sure you get some fish from the poisionnerie - the best lobster ever for about 14e. There is lots to explore within a short drive, but we found the immediate environment had everything we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the quality of the place.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your delightful comments , we are so pleased that others can enjoy the house when we are unable to ! Although we have spent much time there we still find new places to explore and beautiful beach walks and like you we love the poisonnerie down at the Old Port and now they cook the langoustine for you whilst you wait ! Best take away ever ! I do hope you may like to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;