We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless....”
other travellers have booked this property
balcony from sitting room with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
balcony from sitting room with sea view
dining area leads to balcony sitting room with log fire and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
balcony from sitting room with sea view
dining area leads to balcony
sitting room with log fire and sea views
terrace gound level from family room
kitchen leading onto top terrace
Chataignier
ground floor family room opens onto terrace
top terrace access to kitchen
shower room top floor
double bedroom top floor sea view
bathroom level one
master bedroom level 2 sea view
view of house balcony with sea view
twin bedroom level one sea view
marble staircase to bedrooms
Beach near house
nearby beach
la maison
beach near house 8 minute walk
Beach
Port Rhu , Douarnenez
douarnenez at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Douarnenez, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Faultless....”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Still 3 days to go as I write this review but I cannot fault it. We have been so fortunate with the weather and the house has lived up to every expectation. It is a handsome neo-Breton style house with all the modern amenities we seem to require in our lives (that's not a complaint!!). Having wifi has been extremely helpful for me (to check business emails back home) and to do so with a view of the sea...what more can one ask for. A very short stroll to the sandy beach too. Utterly lovely. I shall miss waking up here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.I am delighted that you are enjoying your holiday in our home and have explored the lovely beaches and walks.We do not tire of the views and the beautiful coastline, and am so pleased that you have found it as enjoyable and the house comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MegP
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab U Lous”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful house in a lovely location with a stretching out view over the sea. Every comfort was catered for; lovely airy rooms, lots of comfy chairs, big tables for meals, TV and games area. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was equipped with everything you could need. The beds were so comfortable, and the bathrooms beautifully designed. I'm not sure what else to add; we had the most peaceful and restoring holiday in this graceful and warm home.

The area is beautiful, unspoiled with a glorious beach - the sun seemed to be there all through the day until 8.00pm. We enjoyed the lovely restaurants in Douarnenez, interesting shops - ceramicists, jewellry, art - all there. Make sure you get some fish from the poisionnerie - the best lobster ever for about 14e. There is lots to explore within a short drive, but we found the immediate environment had everything we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the quality of the place.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your delightful comments , we are so pleased that others can enjoy the house when we are unable to ! Although we have spent much time there we still find new places to explore and beautiful beach walks and like you we love the poisonnerie down at the Old Port and now they cook the langoustine for you whilst you wait ! Best take away ever ! I do hope you may like to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House, Great Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked La Chataignier for a week in October as a group of ten to see a friend off in this years Mini Transat from Douarnenez.
Organising the stay was very straight forward, helped by the owner, Vicky W, being very flexible with regard to travel arrangements and providing plenty of advice on how to travel out, and the local facilities ahead of time. Handover was easy and managed well through Karine, the local house keeper
The house occupies an amazing location, 5 mins from town but in an amazingly isolated spot. Sitting on the balcony taking in the views to the coast was a pleasure.
The accommodation is first class, the well appointed kitchen was more than up to the demands of ten people. There is more than enough 'living area' to go along with that, and luxurious bathrooms and super comfy beds as well.
We all had a fantastic time, and couldn't recommend the house strongly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I also pleased it all went well for your party and the brave sailor ! It is certainly a beautiful sailing area and very exciting to see boats go off on the various challenges and races when Douarnenez and Treboul have a wonderful party atmosphere. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
724Cather...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our extended family group 2 over 60's ,4 30 something's and 2 kids aged 7 and 8 had a great holiday in this lovely house. The house was very well equipped. The kitchen was fully fitted with everything we needed to cook and prepare all the delicious ingredients we found in the nearby markets.
The downstairs basement rumpus room was a great feature as it was the perfect place for the children to play noisy games and watch TV and DVD's without disturbing anyone who wanted peace and quiet.
The upstairs terrace and balcony gave beautiful views of the coast, and we all spent a lot of time there.
Everything was in place for our stay when we arrived and handover was very smooth. Comfortable beds and first class bathrooms added to the home form home feel.
Douarnenez is a colourful and interesting town with plenty of cafes and restaurants and daily fish markets. There is also plenty to do and places to explore in the area without having to travel for more than 30 minutes. The beach closest to the house was safe, sandy, and great for all the family.
We were unanimous in agreeing that we would definitely return if we had the chance,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rumpus room and balcony
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane635
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous house in a great seaside location, perfect for large family stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Le Chataignier is a lovely presented house in a picturesque setting. Good sized rooms and bedrooms. Very well equipped kitchen which opens onto a nice terrace for outside eating. Very clean and well maintained.
The house is located about a 4 mile run into town. Plenty of local restaurants and lots of sightseeing to do within a 30 minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good space to entertain a large family group
Liked least: Farmer was muck speading so lots of flies around
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing