We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
58
64
43
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
64
43
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large balcony sandy beach swimming pool jacuzzi receptionist euros sea
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

So looked forward to finally staying here having been bumped over the road to the truly awful Premier Classe when the Tulip was full. So excited when we arrived as it's all smart but usual French - English stitch up ! DO NOT let them give you 1003 over the main front door, linen cupboard next door, all night we could hear the click click of the receptionists shoes, cases being wheeled in and out, cars leaving - ugh. We were told at reception that we could use the pool 'go on our dressing gowns and swimming hats are mandatory" Our room didn't have dressing gowns to use and swimming hats in the Boutique were c. 20 Euros. May be worth trying again as we are often in the area is we have room in our cases for dressing gowns, flip flops etc. Oh by the way if you stay here, book a table in the restaurant when you book your room or you won't get in. As a couple of nice polite English visitors we have to get tougher and stop accepting being fobbed off with the noisiest room in the hotel !

Room Tip: if you don't like your room insist on another, if you want to use the pool, bring ALL your kit!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Ocean view rooms are definitely worth the extra expense here. We had a great room overlooking the bay, with a large balcony equipped with a Jacuzzi. You can walk right onto the beach from the hotel's pool area. The hotel's restaurant was full that night but we there are several restaurants within walking distance. Parking is also convenient. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We did not have a chance to experience the spa treatments but if we have a chance to come back they seem worth checking out.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veroniquee408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel B, La direction at Golden Tulip Douarnenez Hotel & Spa- Valdys Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Veronique,

Thanks a lot for your comment posted on Trip Advisor.
We’re glad you had a pleasant stay in our place and that you enjoyed Brittany

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We were told that the hotel was new, so hopefully they will work out some of the things that need to be addressed. We got to the hotel at 8:30 - the desk clerk did not bother to look up and greet us until we addressed her. We asked if we could eat dinner at the restaurant, and probably should have asked directly at the restaurant instead. The desk clerk told us that the restaurant was done serving for the evening (even to the hotel's clients?!!) so we had to leave the property and look for something that was open.
The room was clean and well-appointed, even though we had a few overlooking the street and not the water. I particularly appreciated the shower and all its different sprays - once I figured out how to operate it. The heated towel rack was much appreciated, too!
We had breakfast on the terrace and this was very nice since the breakfast buffet offered many choices and the view from the terrace was spectacular.
You couldn't get from the hotel directly to the beach, however. You either had to go through the spa (I believe) or walk quite a ways around to get to the water's edge. This is perhaps done on purpose to stop people wandering in off the beach, but was quite inconvenient. And wouldn't you want people to be able to stop in for a drink so they could enjoy the view and perhaps decide to return for a stay?
We only stayed one night since we were traveling and were not able to take advantage of the spa - or the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alembr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Got a fantastic seaview room with a balcony. It is a really peaceful hotel except in the pool which is also used by local customers so if there is a class the hotel guests have to leave the pool....The pool in itself is quite old and needs to be refurbished. Had no time to try a spa treatment though. The hotel is located on the sandy beach, just a footpath in between. We only had breakfast there, it is decent but after a few days we would have liked some changes! Service is very friendly and you feel welcomed. A negative point is the parking which is not very secure.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caroline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Great hotel just in front of a beautiful strand, with mostly rooms having a great view on the sea. I had an half pension, and the restaurant for the breakfast and for the diner is really a great and quiet place with a quiet music and wonderful view on the sea. The buffet for the breakfast is nice with fruit salat, local yoghurt, cheese, jam etc.It's just amazing to take your breakfast with such a great view and in a quiet atmosphere of understated elegance. You don't need to arrive early. The food is really remaining fully supplied till 10 am and even a bit later. The room was very spacious. Avoid the swimming pool when there is aquafitness in it (no place to swim). In the morning there is nobody in the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Executive room with Jacuzzi on 4th floor with an amazing view on the sea
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAETICIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews