We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favorite place in Alaska, wishing we could...”
other travellers have booked this property
Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay View looking East at low tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Deck
A Cottage on the Bay
View looking East at low tide
View looking north toward Seward
Looking out the door...yes, you may bring your dog :-)
kitchen/dining room
Twin room
2nd floor common area
King room
Buster & Bentley
Madeleine and her 1st silver salmon
View from the Penthouse on a fog day. The tide is out quite far!
Window detail
Immature American Bald Eagle
Typical view from the deck looking East
Lowell Point is about 3 miles south of Seward, AK and is in the circle.
Welcome to A Cottage on the Bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seward, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alaskaaut...
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Alaska, wishing we could live there!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Cottage-on-the-Bay is one of the most beautiful places in Alaska!!! Perched right on the beach on Lowell Point, with the Seward downtown 3 miles across the bay and the full breadth of Resurrection Bay in front of you, the cottage itself has the ambiance and wonderful little nooks, built-in bookshelves, reminscent of Cape Cod color schemes and decor, and everything you need to feel right at home and just envelope yourself into oceanside living. We saw a whale breach only yards away from our rocking chairs in front of the cottage. We watched eagles swoop, sea lions teaching their young, sea otters munching on shellfish, sailboats and cruise ships sailing by in the distance, incredible sunrises and sunsets painting the skies and surrounding mountains while reflecting on the waters of Resurrrection Bay. We explored the beaches, watched a bear come down to the water's edge, rode bikes, enjoyed outdoor campfires in the evenings, and marveled at the constantly changing scenery with the weather and the tides.

The beds made you feel like you never wanted to get out of them, unless it was to capture the views from the windows at all hours, ever changing. Big windows look out on all sides. At the same time, our teenagers were thrilled with the DSL internet service and Dish Network satellite TV, the special power strip that quickly charged all their electronic devices, and the swinging seats in both living room and upstairs den area.

It is only 3 miles along the scenic Lowell Point Road from Seward, passing a huge waterfall and fish processing plant, and an escape from all we knew. The book collections are phenomenal, with an assortment of Alaskana, Alaska authors (fiction/nonfiction), travel guides, and nautical lore to rival some of the best libraries. We loved cooking in the kitchen, where you can cook on the huge gas stove while gazing out at the sea grasses blowing in the wind and families getting quality time on the beach. All of the pans, dishes, seasonings, and just about everything we need is right at our fingertips. And there is a fireplace with plenty of wood. Two bathrooms, both the kind you could stay in reading for hours and hours! Upstairs comes with a view!

The proprietors, Sue and Ken, have a lofty mother-in-law cottage adjoining the parking lot, and are full of resources and suggestions for what to see and what to do. They are very responsive and when the toilet accidentally overflowed, they had a plumber there within minutes of reporting it and it was neatly repaired and ready to go! They will show you the unique system of the huge cistern adjoining the house that fills when it rains.

It is such a truly lovely place, so very nice, so very special, you will never, ever want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. Not one negative.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arrious
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
“The cottage with the awesome view”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was well equipped with many condiments and spices. There were no needed items for cooking, cleaning, clearing, etc. that were not provided. The cottage was clean and tidy decorated in New England style. The host was gracious and informative and very knowledgeable of the area and recommended eating establisments, and activities for us to enjoy. You can truly stay at the cabin and never leave on your vacation and see sea life abundant, with the surrounding mountains snow capped and teeming with beautiful trees and growth. There was even a resident bald eagle that showed us his skills. A great place to relax and enjoy Alaska with a very hospitable hostess and host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: one shower
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pambJ3179...
Warrenton, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We arrived in the middle of the night and felt like Grandma left the door open for us!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Sue & her cottage feels like an Alaskan home & relative that you just found out you had! The cottage feels like a home that you didn't have to decorate...but your Grandma did it for you. It sits RIGHT on the bay, we watched hump back whales, sea otter, seals, eagle & many other types of water birds from our deck &/or kitchen window. You can hike for miles, right out of your back door. The kitchen is pretty well stocked...you need to bring your fresh stuff...but the rest is pretty well there. We were a group of 8 adults. Mom & Dad & then 6 kids ranging from 21-27 years. We had plenty of room in a cozy & homey cottage. We did have to be careful w/ the water usage as it has to be trucked in...but as long as no one lingered...& no one did...we never had a problem, in fact we did a load of laundry too! I would definitely come back here....it would be the perfect place to retreat to...if you just needed to get away from the world!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach, view, sealife... it felt like an Alaskan getaway that I didn't know I had.
Liked least: I worried about the water usage, because we were such a big group...it ended up not being a problem at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donkeynz
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very homely cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our extended family of 4 adults and 3 children stayed at this lovely homely cottage for three nights. The location is superb being right on the beach front with views to die for. The cottage is equipped with everything imaginable for a relaxing holiday. As we had travelled from New Zealand with the bare minimum of luggage it was a godsend to stay here as the kitchen was fully equipped - herbs, spices, oils and all manner of condiments were available for our use so we only needed to buy the big items from the supermarket to cook our own meals. The bedrooms were cosy and well stocked with linen and towels. Books, toys, games were all there for us to use.
Great fishing a little further down the beach landed us some fat salmon. Would also recommend going out on a charter fishing trip.
Many thanks to Sue for her helpful tips and having such a great place to share.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future if come back to the Last Frontier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaBum...
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sue's Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our 6th trip to Alaska, and our 3rd stop at "Sue's Place". For us, it is simply the best place in the Seward area to stay. Her charming cottage is actually past Seward and out on Lowell Point, which is a good thing to us. Seward is a neat little town, but it can get overrun by cruise ship folks. So, it can be a bit crowded by people "on a schedule". Lowell Point, however, is completely laid back, mainly because there is not much there besides vacation houses, campgrounds, a state park, and Miller's Landing (for charter fishing, kayaking, etc...).

Plopped right on the beach of Resurrection Bay, pictures can't even convey the ever-changing view of different colors bouncing off the water and mountains. Porpoises, sea otters, bald eagles, and sea lions are frequent visitors, and all you need to do is sit and wait, inside or out.

The cottage is a "cottage", with age and personality. We love the homey feel and the warm fireplace, but you'll be disappointed if you're expecting The Ritz. Of course, you probably wouldn't be visiting Seward/Lowell Point if that was your expectation!

Thank you, Sue, for allowing my family to share your slice of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hominess, size
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2012
Thanks Dan. It's always a pleasure to have your family stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again in 2013. We are staying put for the time being.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$349
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing