We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kona is how you spell vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
View cruise ship from the lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View cruise ship from the lanai
Parking area Have breakfast in the lanai while enjoying the beautiful ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View cruise ship from the lanai
Parking area
Have breakfast in the lanai while enjoying the beautiful ocean view
Enjoy the privacy of the living room
Living room with kitchen view
Bathroom includes shower & tub
Bedroom with a comfortable queen size bed
Enjoy BBQ area with family and guests
Shop at the Farmer's Market on Hualalai Rd & Alii Dr
Swim at Kamakahonu Beach-5 minute walking distance, near the pier
Snorkel/Surf at Honls Beach approx half a mile away
Snorkel & Surf at Kahalu u Beach, 4 miles away
Hapuna Beach on the Sunny Kohala Coast
Camp, Snorkel, Surf Samuel Spencer Beach National Park
Ahu'ena Heiau (old temple) on Alii near pier
Hulihee Palace (summer palace) on Alii, Kona
Historic City of Refuge at Honaunau Bay, also has one of the best kayak & snorkel area nearby
Hike the trail along the Akaka Falls
Visit the historical Painted Church (St. Benedict's Catholic Church) in Captain Cook
King Kamehameha I birthplace in Kohala
Explore lava tube caves at the Volcanos Nat'l Park
Largest concentration of Petroglyphs near Puako
Explore Waipio Valley on horseback, ATV, by air
Visit Kilauea Volcano Natiotnal Park
Kona Brewery is a 10 minute walk from condo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeffrey B
Springfield, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kona is how you spell vacation”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The good and bad. The good. 1. Location! Located in the heart of Kona, easy walk to restaurants entertainment and the ocean. 2. Security - you need a key to enter the building. 3. Amenities - nice to have beach chairs, mats and towels supplied, Also a small cooler and boogie boards so you are covered for beach fun. The bed was very comfortable and the ki9tchen was outfitted with everything you need to cook plus basic condiments. There also is a wonderful book "The Big Island Revealed" that gives you the real skinny on beaches, restaurants and things to do (it became our Bible during our stay), 4.Convenience - close to grocery stores. Also having washer dryers on site. 5. Friendly neighbors. 6. Sitting out on the Lanai and enjoying the view and evening breezes. 7. John the owner - easy to work with. 8. and most important - Kona and living on Island time.
The bad 1. Noisy - city sounds and a church that likes to ring it's bells at 7;00 A.M. on Sunday mornings. 2. We never did figure out the cable TV. We got around 12 stations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Glendale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A pleasant stay and good value!”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

It was not easy to find reasonably priced bookings in Kona over Christmas. This rental fit the bill quite nicely!

Location: Pros- Walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. View of the ocean is nice- just as pictured. Easy access to main roads for road trips. Cons: It took me a day or so to get used to the traffic noise in the living room and balcony area.

Space: Pros- So nice to have a whole (small) condo to stretch out in after a cramped hotel room in in Maui. Homey, fun decor in dated Hawaiian kitsch. It feels like your auntie's condo. Cons- A little worn. Sliding glass door to the balcony works, but is damaged.

Amenities: Pros- Assigned parking space. Washer/dryer with detergent and dryer sheets. Boogie boards, fins, snorkel stuff, beach chairs, and beach towels. Games and videos.

Bedroom: Pros- At the back of the condo, so it's pretty quiet. Good drawer and closet space. Cons- The queen mattress definitely needs replacing!

Bathroom: Pros- Nice "rain" shower. Cons- Tub is stained. Faucet contraption has been repaired "on the cheap", and will not hold up too much longer.

Kitchen: Pros- Full small kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware, and dishwasher! No Cons.

In short, this vacation rental could use a couple of improvements, but is still a great affordable place in Kona for a couple or small family. We would return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you for all your compliments and the ones that need our attention. We just got a new maintenance mgr. We are finally getting all the minor issues solve. We are fortunate enough to find someone who is very reliable. Take care and Hau'oli Makahiki Hou...Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad you enjoy your stay. We really appreciate your complement!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trip72268...
1 review
“Comfortable Condo”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very clean and comfortable condo. Great location close to shopping, restaurants, and activities. Will certainly book again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2017
Thank Jill for taking the time to write us a review. You're an ideal guest...thank you for keeping the condo nice and clean!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadett...
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a perfect location - 7 miles from the airport.
(thanks to another visitor re the tip of walking thru the parking lot), 5 mins to the main street and historical Kona, restaurants and shops etc.
A very well appointed condo everything you could need and poss more, even paraphernalia for the beach - towels to boogie boards. Close by to local stores (Walgreens etc for supplies and a garage next door for emergencies).
I felt very safe here (as a single lady traveller) and the residents were friendly (I even fell asleep in the rocking chair with the front door open/unlocked one night!).
The view is fantastic and ever changing with the cruise ships coming in twice whilst I was there.
Quiet location only the fan in the bedroom kept me awake :) and don't follow your sat nav - mine tried to drop me off on the upper highway - follow Mary-Annes directions!
Thanks and highly recommended - I would definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Still await deposit :(
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing