We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$407
View deal
Official Site
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,043)
Filter reviews
4,043 results
Traveller rating
1,050
1,575
821
359
238
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,050
1,575
821
359
238
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon mai tai bar alii tower don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower salt water lagoon the big island shops and restaurants an ocean view room an older hotel on the rocks watch the sunset crashing waves coffee maker alii drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 4,043 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2021 via mobile

A big Mahalo to the staff. So friendly and working. The food, drinks and Pool service was the best. The location is perfect for us. All the shops,bars and views on Alii dr. Perfection My boyfriend and I will return. Aloha

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Psaba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Royal Kona Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the location, pool, food, drinks, and nearby shops. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

Paradise where royalty’s stories are told. Totally Hawaiian. Very folk tide pool where you can swim with exotic fish, wade in the water and watch black crabs scuttle, watch dolphins swim by, dine with sea spray intoxicating the air and your brain.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank patriciabT6667BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had an excellent experience at the Royal Kona and enjoyed the Hawaiian feel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2021

My sister and I had stayed here before and noticed a few things have changed. Used to have a Hawaiian charm to the rooms-that's gone now-very generic. Odd things we noticed and it was like the room wasn't completely redone-no full length mirror and there was a huge wall where that could have easily gone, no light between the beds -the lights mounted on the sides were pretty ineffective for lighting, no place to put things in the bathtub-for instance no place to really put soap and the edges were so narrow that we kept knocking over the shampoo so we bought a plastic bin at Wal Mart to corral everything and the chair that goes with the desk area stuck out so far into the room that it became an obstacle so we solved that by moving it next to one of the beds. Those were minor quirks but over a 10 day stay became pretty noticeable. We love the location and the food at the restaurant is good so it's a great place to stay.

Room tip: If you don't want to year the luau several times a week, ask for a room away from that-can get very loud
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We are glad you had a nice stay overall and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We did recently remodel and tried to keep a Hawaiian flare. We take all our reviews seriously and will take your recommendations into consideration. We are happy your overall stay was great, and we hope to welcome you back!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Royal Kona for our anniversary from April 29 - May 2, 2021.

We stayed in a King Balcony oceanfront corner room. Our room was located in the Lagoon Tower. It was breathtaking. Clean. Comfortable. Delightful.

We woke up early and enjoyed the lagoon all by ourselves before anyone else came down. Beautiful fish and crashing waves were a delight at the lagoon.

We enjoyed both the resort bar/restaurant (must eat the chowder and poke bowl), as well as the resort luau. We thoroughly enjoyed both. It rained during the luau but we didn’t mind. We were given complimentary ponchos and that did the trick. The food was delicious and the entertainment/show was wonderful.

We felt the front desk could have been more hospitable as far as friendly, but they didn’t mistreat us. The on-site parking cost $18/day which wasn’t bad. We’ve spent a lot more at lesser hotels/resorts.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank freddae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you and your husband had a great stay at the Royal Kona. We are happy you liked your Oceanfront Corner King room and enjoyed the lagoon and the food. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021

This has got to be the worst excuse for a hotel.
No one answers the phone for room service....... multiple times and just let it ring and ring and ring.
Front desk couldn't find our reservation when we arrived then gave us two double beds instead of the king ordered.
The front desk answers as they want and asks the room service to call us but nothing happens. Rooms are 1960'ish and no hot water in the shower. concrete on the exterior of the hotel is cracking

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsE9874UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read you had an unpleasant experience. We always strive to provide the best service possible and apologize this was not the case. We do not have room service at the Royal Kona but you can order take out from the restaurant. Bedding is subject to availability at time of check in. We apologize we could not accommodate you in a room with your requested bedding. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We will look into the hot water and the exterior of the hotel. We hope your stay on the island was still wonderful and you made great memories.

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews