We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$402
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$402
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
ZenHotels.com
US$367
View deal
Hotels.comUS$402
PricelineUS$402
travelup.comUS$387
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,029)
Filter reviews
4,033 results
Traveller rating
1,047
1,569
821
359
237
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,047
1,569
821
359
237
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon mai tai bar alii tower don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower salt water lagoon the big island shops and restaurants an ocean view room an older hotel on the rocks watch the sunset crashing waves coffee maker alii drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 4,033 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Royal Kona for our anniversary from April 29 - May 2, 2021.

We stayed in a King Balcony oceanfront corner room. Our room was located in the Lagoon Tower. It was breathtaking. Clean. Comfortable. Delightful.

We woke up early and enjoyed the lagoon all by ourselves before anyone else came down. Beautiful fish and crashing waves were a delight at the lagoon.

We enjoyed both the resort bar/restaurant (must eat the chowder and poke bowl), as well as the resort luau. We thoroughly enjoyed both. It rained during the luau but we didn’t mind. We were given complimentary ponchos and that did the trick. The food was delicious and the entertainment/show was wonderful.

We felt the front desk could have been more hospitable as far as friendly, but they didn’t mistreat us. The on-site parking cost $18/day which wasn’t bad. We’ve spent a lot more at lesser hotels/resorts.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank freddae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you and your husband had a great stay at the Royal Kona. We are happy you liked your Oceanfront Corner King room and enjoyed the lagoon and the food. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021

This has got to be the worst excuse for a hotel.
No one answers the phone for room service....... multiple times and just let it ring and ring and ring.
Front desk couldn't find our reservation when we arrived then gave us two double beds instead of the king ordered.
The front desk answers as they want and asks the room service to call us but nothing happens. Rooms are 1960'ish and no hot water in the shower. concrete on the exterior of the hotel is cracking

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsE9874UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read you had an unpleasant experience. We always strive to provide the best service possible and apologize this was not the case. We do not have room service at the Royal Kona but you can order take out from the restaurant. Bedding is subject to availability at time of check in. We apologize we could not accommodate you in a room with your requested bedding. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We will look into the hot water and the exterior of the hotel. We hope your stay on the island was still wonderful and you made great memories.

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

My husband and I lodged at the Royal Kona Resort from April 24 through May 1, 2021. We booked our hotel and flight package along with another couple through Costco. The odd thing was, Costco would NOT allow us to opt-out of renting a car or getting a transfer to/from the hotel. It’s just a Costco thing we’ve encountered before.

Our shuttle promptly picked us up and took us to the Royal Kona Resort. We inquired about the size of bed(s) in the Deluxe, Partial Ocean-View room and were told they were double-size beds. We then asked to have a room with a K-size bed and were pleasantly told one was available at no additional cost. Our room, #713 was clean & roomy, the bed comfy and the small balcony had 2 chairs and a table. The balcony overlooked the modest pool and deck, the gorgeous ocean and the evening luau.

Although we specifically asked the front desk to send housekeeping every 2-3 days, housekeeping never got the message and arrived daily, with oodles of towel sets. When we checked out there was a tall pile of towels!!

We greatly enjoyed our stay and we will return to this hotel. Yes, it is somewhat outdated, and the restaurant, “Don the Beachcomber” was not open, but their other, open-air dining area was open and the food was good. Their menu was limited but again, the food was more than adequate!

Room tip: Ask about the size of the bed in your reserved room
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CoNnIeA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Aloha,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the food at the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Kona.

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

Great place to stay especially if you want to be in the heart of Kona. Walked to dinner every night. We were in a large corner room looking out onto the ocean. Room was spacious clean and no noise from neighboring rooms. The grounds of the Royal Kona were very nice, pool a good size but it gets busy so recommend reserving a cabana or daybed. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnnettenJoe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Aloha,

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Mahalo,
Zareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

It a beautiful hotel, and it’s a walking distance to everything! Wish we could have stayed a bit longer! Definitely will come back here again. They have a lagoon that there’s a different kinds of exotic fishes that you you can swim. Love, love it!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank missionc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful time and loved swimming with the fishes in the lagoon. We look forward to your return and hopefully it will be a longer stay!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews