We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Lunch”

Mother's Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 174 Quick Bites in New Orleans
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Warehouse/Central Business District
Description: Authentic N'Awlins home-style cooking since 1938. The Amato family welcomes you for a taste of tradition.Home of award-winning Jambalaya, the famous Ferdi Special, and the original debris-laden roast beef.Private room for parties, rehearsal dinners and special events.
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Our first visit to New Orleans and everyone told us to visit Mother's for their PoBoy, so that was our first lunch stop. We also had the pecan pie and bread pudding. You stand in line to put in your order, then the food is served to you. A great experience.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank jeanne156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (8,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,554 - 4,558 of 8,573 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

This restaurant is somewhat 'famous' so expect a wait especially earlier in the day. At dinner the wait was much shorter. It's cafeteria style and kind of dumpy inside but the food is great. The ham and fried chicken were both excellent. The sides were very southern (collard greens, grits etc). Not too expensive either.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank 762stephenb762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I visited this restaurant middle September during a conference. The food was average and I would say with too fat, the portions were large the servic was good.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank akist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Mother's was right across the street from our hotel so since it was pouring we decided to try it. It reminded me of someone's basement, so casual people were practically falling off their chairs or tripping over each other. The staff were very laid back and humourous, the food was good. You order at the counter before you find a table. I enjoyed the experience and would have gone back. My friend was not so happy with the atmosphere. Read a few more reviews and decide if you want to give it a try. Saw long line ups for weekend brunch.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank gjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Have to get my Ferdi fix whenever I am in town. The ham, the beef, the "debris" never disappoint. Nothing fancy, just good food!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank chefsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.