We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Istana Balian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Istana Balian
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

Great. Clean mid priced villas on the road in to the beach , host Michael also has a small villa available to rent closer to the main surf break . The footy in season it's here were all the xpats and visitors come to watch

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank markN3474KI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

35 - 39 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2015

A big thankyou to all the staff at Istana Balian for a great (and very comfortable) surf holiday:

The staff arranged for our airport pickup and transfers with no issues at all. The location in town is not right on the beach, but only a 5-10min walk down to the wave at the rivermouth.

Our room had a comfortable bed and air-conditioning. I was pretty happy to catch a couple of games of footy at the hotel between surf sessions and we lost count of how many servings of Nasi Goreng and cold Bintangs we enjoyed.

We would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank S-man_and_T-bomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

First time to Balian for a 50th bday. Very cruisy place. Not much to do other than surf.
We were booked into Istana
Not knowing anything about it. Very impressed. Good quality rooms. Great food. Live sports. Cold beer. Great location. Short walk to good surf breaks.
Would absolutely recommend to stay.

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

Great accommodation,large rooms&bathrooms with walk-in showers&fluffy white towels.Comfy beds with plenty of pillows.Aircon&fans,indosat tv&dvds in bedrooms &day bed on veranda's.Indonesian&western foods are prepared by staff are all Delicious as well as great breakfast included in price of room.Lovely pool&the owners&staff are always helpful&always smiling.This place is Awesome&i can't recommend it highly enough . We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Balian

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff and owners make this place! They also have a wonderful little restaurant and cook an awesome burger and nasi or mi goring! Only a very short stroll down the hill to warungs and Balian Beach. The price is great for your inclusive breaky and a huge room and new well maintained amenities

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.4 km away
Amarta Retreat
Amarta Retreat
#7 of 13 in Tabanan
63 reviews
13.1 km away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
726 reviews
0.4 km away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Selemadeg
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Balian Paradise Resort
Balian Paradise Resort
#10 of 13 in Tabanan
36 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Helen Balian
Villa Helen Balian
#20 of 60 in Tabanan
29 reviews
0.2 km away
Gubug Balian Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istana Balian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istana Balian

Address: Br Pengasahan, Desa Lalang Linggah, Surabrata, Tabanan 82125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the real Bali at Istana Balian. Away from the crowds and bustle of Kuta in the middle of beautiful nature, but still close to everything you might need. Enjoy authentic Balinese cuisine at our restaurant, enjoy signature cocktails from our bar, and allow our English speaking staff to recommend and organize local excursions. Perfect for families and surfers Istana Balian is the ideal spot to absorb the local culture, catch perfect waves and truly enjoy your time in the Island of the Gods. Offering a range of superior quality accommodation, including our Deluxe Bungalows, the luxurious secluded Garden Suites and the rustic surf front Beach Bungalow; privacy, peace and comfort for you, your friends and your family are assured. A luxurious garden, tranquil areas for reading and relaxing, and a swimming pool offer peace and recreation. Bali is an island which deserves to be explored. Our staff can arrange trips for you to the Ubud Monkey forest, Uluwatu Temple, Mount Kawi, Nusa Park, and many more destintions according to your interests. Nestled among little fishing villages, close to the traditional village of Surabrata, tranquil sand beaches, and impressive temples, Istana Balian offers everything for an unforgetable stay in Bali. Surabrata beach is in walking distance and perfect for children or just sunbathing and enjoying the view. Balian is also known for it's world-class surf spots. Only a short drive away is Medewi which is famous for the probably longest point break in Bali. We are about 60km from Denpasar airport and a transfer can be arranged. The beach and local shops are in walking distance, but if you feel like exploring the area on your own, we do provide scooters for 6 AUSD per day and can organize a taxi for you if you don't feel like driving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Istana Balian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing