We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
78
18
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
18
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort strollnasi gorengsbig tvlovely poolstayed longerthe food is greatamazing viewsother guestsmichaelkomangrotanaaflaccommodationkutabaligardenvilla
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2015

A big thankyou to all the staff at Istana Balian for a great (and very comfortable) surf holiday:

The staff arranged for our airport pickup and transfers with no issues at all. The location in town is not right on the beach, but only a 5-10min walk down to the wave at the rivermouth.

Our room had a comfortable bed and air-conditioning. I was pretty happy to catch a couple of games of footy at the hotel between surf sessions and we lost count of how many servings of Nasi Goreng and cold Bintangs we enjoyed.

We would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank S-man_and_T-bomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

First time to Balian for a 50th bday. Very cruisy place. Not much to do other than surf.
We were booked into Istana
Not knowing anything about it. Very impressed. Good quality rooms. Great food. Live sports. Cold beer. Great location. Short walk to good surf breaks.
Would absolutely recommend to stay.

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

Great accommodation,large rooms&bathrooms with walk-in showers&fluffy white towels.Comfy beds with plenty of pillows.Aircon&fans,indosat tv&dvds in bedrooms &day bed on veranda's.Indonesian&western foods are prepared by staff are all Delicious as well as great breakfast included in price of room.Lovely pool&the owners&staff are always helpful&always smiling.This place is Awesome&i can't recommend it highly enough . We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Balian

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff and owners make this place! They also have a wonderful little restaurant and cook an awesome burger and nasi or mi goring! Only a very short stroll down the hill to warungs and Balian Beach. The price is great for your inclusive breaky and a huge room and new well maintained amenities

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Great place to surf or relax. We stayed for 2 nights but should have stayed longer. Komang and staff looked after us like family. There where 6 of us and we all had a great time. Rooms big and beautiful. Would definitely staff there again

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews