We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, peaceful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pondok Ernita

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Entrance
Entrance
Dining Room 2
Living Room 2
Living Room 2
Living Room 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Living Room 2
Dining Room 2
Dining Room 2
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
Living Room 1
Living Room 1
Dining Room 1
Dining Room 1
Dining Room 1
Living Room 1
Living Room 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Pool
Pathways
Pathways
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Legian, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gilbert L
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Could be so much”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There were two couples booked in to this villa. We normally stay at a hotel or resort, but decided that it would be worth a change to look for a bit more privacy and peace and quiet with getting a villa. The below review is a combination of the individual views of the couples concerned, and is purely subjective on our experiences during this stay. Ratings /10 were given for the various areas that you would expect to have in a private villa. Please note - we are older couples (50's) and have travelled fairly extensively overseas (especially in SE Asia), so we have experienced quite a lot.
1. Booking Communication and troubleshooting - initially the communication with the booking and any requests for information etc. was excellent. The owners were prompt in their reply through the TA message portal, and all was organised well in advance (a nice touch was the airport greeting and transport provided as part of the rental). Since we had booked 7 months in advance, all was securely in place and went without a hitch. There were some minor problems initially with some locks, and electrical equipment, which were remedied very promptly by the owners (this was greatly appreciated). rating 10/10.
2. Location, privacy, peace and quiet - as we were looking for a base that was more private, still in the heart of Legian as well as being close to the beach - this villa ticked those boxes. Being opposite the Puri Raja Hotel and off Jl Padma Utara, it was only a matter of a 75 metre stroll down Gang Yuli (not named on Google maps, but between Gang Abdi and Gang XXI) to the front of the villa. This was excellent, as we had stayed previously at the Puri Raja (access to Legian Beach), so knew the area well. all was good until we ran into renovations going on behind us (Yuli Beach Inn), which then precluded any extra sleep past 6am as then the jackhammers, generators, and diesel truck noise and fumes began, generally going on all day. Unfortunately just bad timing and nothing that anyone could foresee. Maybe a week either side and this would not have been an issue. What was of a major issue, was that we were not aware beforehand, that there was an access lane (Gang XXI) that allowed local traffic to cut through from Jl Legian down through all the rabbit warren back lanes, which came right down the side of the villa. This plus the 30 or so apartment/living areas of the Pondok Dika Dicki that you pass by to get to the villa - added to incessant motorbike/scooter noise that went on from early morning to late at night. The peace and quiet that we were craving was not to be had (either relaxing in the pool or watching TV, or trying to sleep). The rating would have been much higher if not for these things. Rating 6/10.
3. Facilities - there was a majority vote when looking for a villa to rent for this trip. I myself was not so interested in the 'traditional' style of Balinese living but the others involved said that they would like to try it out. Thus I went with the majority. I'm personally not a big fan of allowing insects (mainly mosquitoes) in to living areas, and where I have to constantly put coils out, spray repellent on or have battery operated deterrers. regardless of all this, I still managed to get bitten a few times, as did other members of the group. Also, having to go into a bedroom to get cool (one fan to do the whole living area may not be sufficient with the amount of heat and humidity in the area) was a personal bugbear. There were mosquito nets around the bed, and that helped, but basically we kept the bedroom door closed 24/7. As others have mentioned, the seating is hard and not overly comfortable. The bed was also very firm, but once your back got used to that then it wasn't too bad. Another thing was the inconsistencies of equipment e.g. One villa had a small portable CD player, and one had a DVD player. This was somewhat strange, as you would not expect everyone to go to one abode or the other just to watch or listen, One should expect that there is the equivalent in both bungalows. The pool was a good size, and in most cases reasonably cool, but not one that I would recommend for children (unless closely supervised), as strangely the 'shallow' end is about 1.6 metres deep (I stand at 1.7 m, and had to stand on tiptoes to try and get my mouth out of water). Overall, we felt that the villa would have been a stand out in its heyday, but now is looking dated, weary, and in need of some maintenance and a complete soft makeover (I don't know if the adage 'you get what you pay for' applies here). Rating 6/10.
Overall, staying here was an 'experience' of traditional living style, but one personally, that I did not enjoy thoroughly, and ended up not fulfilling the parameters that I hoped were going to be met when we decided to try this experiment. I would not give up on villa rental in future trips, I personally would not be interested in this style, again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

4 of us spent 2 weeks here in mid February 2017, with the intention of just doing nothing, and thoroughly enjoyed our time. We stayed with friends who have stayed here before. The accommodation is open to nature, under a large thatched roof for each villa.The bedrooms are fully enclosed with good air conditioning and ceiling fan. The villa is cleaned daily 6 days a week, and bed linen and towels replaced regularly. This is not centimetre perfect, pristine living, and comes with the odd bug and a few ants, but certainly not enough to annoy your average person. There was an issue with the gas water heater in our villa, and it was replaced within 24 hours,

Location is great, with a number of restaurants, minimarts and the usual Bali shops within a 3-5 minute walk.The villas are down a 50m lane off a main Legian street. Legian Beach is a 5 minute walk through the Puri Sari hotel.
I suggest this is a great villa for a private, relaxing holiday for 2 couples at a budget price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclaughli...
Perth Hills, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is fantastic. Just a short walk to the main shopping area of Legian and other hotels/ restaurants in the area. Close access to the beach through a walkway to enjoy a Bintang or two, but most of the time we just lazed by the pool in absolute peace & serenity. Made & her husband Ketut the caretakers, were very accomodating & helped us out every day if we needed them & kept the villa clean & tidy. After they had completed their work they would leave & we could enjoy the surroundings with utter privacy. If you want to experience a traditional Bali villa with outside/undercover bathroom, thatched bamboo roofing, great pool, huge king beds & plenty of space, then Pondok Ernita is for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Noosa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 * - perfect alternative to two rooms at a hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Firstly - we are frequent travellers to Bali, and are particularly fond of this area around Legian. We find it convenient, safe, close to the beach with great restaurants, spas and shopping for myself and my teenage daughters. We normally stay at hotels, and on this occasion, were lucky enough to stumble upon Pondok Enrita! Where to begin!

Firstly - location is - if you want to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta/Jalan Legian PERFECT! Pondok Legian is 5 minute walk to Legian beach, 3 minutes to an amazing Carla Spa, 3 minutes to Sammy's restaurant. 5 minutes also takes you to busy Jalan Legian which has all the shops you could desire - 12 minutes to Bintang supermarket - 8 minutes to Double 6 and a 25 minute walk to Kuta Beach and surrounds. So - as I say perfect location.

The VILLA!! - you enter through one of those doors in walls - which I have always wondered what lays behind. You will be amazed - so close - yet so serene. A path winds its way to the first living/sleeping/bathroom area (note the FIRST!). The living room is huge - comprising of a basic kitchen (fridge, 2 burner cooker, crockery, cutlery, glasses, bottle opener - for your Bintangs! etc.) Adjoining that is a large living area with a built in sofa/day bed type arrangement - would seat at least 8 comfortably. This area also has a television set and DVD player. Off the living area is a very large bedroom with airconditioning and mosquito netting, hanging space and view of the pool. Next to the bedroom is an indoor/outdoor bathroom with shower. All in Balinese style and very comfortable. My teenage daughters had this front area, and enjoyed having their own living space in which to watch movies, listen to their music, chat and relax.

Passing through this part of the property - you come across the pool and to the left of that another living area, kitchenette area, bedroom and bathroom. This area is very similar to the first (I was a bit confused when I saw Anita's photos - as thought there were an awful lot of photos of living area - there are two!). The bathroom in this area has an outdoor shower - which is very private and a joy to bathe under. This second bedroom also has air con, mosquito net and a safe. Regarding the safe - Anita the owner advises you of the code - none of the staff know the code - ensuring any worries you may have about security are unfounded. Oh - and a big sell for Bali - the WIFI works well!!!

If you, as I did, read through reviews - you will see that someone (I am being polite) complained about the villa. Having just spent 8 nights there - please let me REASSURE you that this place is fantastic. The two living areas are open - with very wide eaves overhanging the steps. We were there during rainy season - at not once did any rain enter the living areas. The same person who complained, also said the place was riddled with mosquitos..... In 8 night stay - neither myself nor my daughters had ONE mosquito bite! The pool was spotless - deep enough to stay cool and refreshing and more than large enough for the three of us to float around on the lilos provided.

As far as the staff provided go - we LOVE Made and Ketut. Made came in every morning at 10.00 a.m. to clean the villa. She was always smiling, very thorough and perhaps most importantly - unobstrusive. We never once felt uncomfortable being at the property whilst she was working. On our departure, Made came to farewell us - with yet more of her beautiful smiles and a wonderful hug. She is a real asset to the villa - and it was a pleasure to have her look after us. Ketut - Made's husband is in charge of the pool - again very unobtrusive and professional. Both Ketut and Made speak very good English and are more than happy to answer any questions we had. They contributed to our 5 star plus rating of this villa.

This villa is perfect for visitors who don't want the clinical, space restrictions offered by hotels. You really feel like you are in BALI - and walking down the gang to the mysterious door in the wall, past the young kids who always like to practise their English on you gives you a sense of what it is like to part of Bali - not part of "Australia Bali". If you are travellers who like space, privacy and a safe and secure environment (with a great pool) I can not recommend Pondok Enrita enough.

To the person who complained - try a sterile hotel next time - may be better suited to your requirements!

Thanks thanks thanks and terima kasi Anita, Made and Ketut.
Caroline, Stella and Tallulah - we'll be back!!! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Dear Caroline,
Thanks you so much for this wonderfull comment on Pondok Ernita .
I am so glad that you fully enjoy your stay in our villa .
As we always try to do our best for our guest have the best hollidays, it's always good to read a comment like your's .
I will be very happy to have you again with us , you are more than welcome .
Terima kasih banyak ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diannem19...
2 reviews
“great spot”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We found pondok ernita to be in a lovely quiet location handy to shopping and restaurants the staff made and ketut couldnt be more helpful very balinese villa which is why you go to bali could do with a second toaster and kettle in second villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing