We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SWEET HISTORY AND SPOOKY VIBES”

Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk
Ranked #14 of 22 Tours in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Appalachian GhostWalks offers sixteen different tours located all across East Tennessee and Southwest Virginia. Our "Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk" is one of several locations operating out of Johnson City, Tennessee. Please visit our website for additional information on our fully planned vacation packages and single evening lantern-led tours. Ten percent of our annual profits go to benefit St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. We hope to see you soon for a simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Reviewed 26 June 2017

First of all like I stated before I totally think Stacey Allen deserves a raise. LOL. He goes through a lot definitely since he is the main Tour Guide! I don't understand why people are so negative. I mean really enjoyed myself and so did my fiance. It was fun, educational and very Haunted! Stacey is enriched with knowledge of history and very spiritual which is a very different outlook on the Ghostly world. My fiance and I attended two Ghostwalks with Stacey two days out of short vacation. I wish we would have made our vacation longer because we would have went on many more Ghostwalks with Stacey. If you love history and Ghost you need to Hit Appalachian GhostWalks up STAT! OH you will have plenty of Ghostly encounters, Believe me I know! Please If you give it a chance don't down it and remember Stacey is one person not God he can't always be on time or everywhere at once.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank juaniqamoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Guest...

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you so very much and look forward to seeing you again soon throughout the East Tennessee and Southwest Virginia region for a chance to hear about the History, Mystery, and Legend of Southern Appalachia with another chance to positively interact with and meet the "People of the Past". We wish you wonderful journeys ahead and God's blessings to you and yours!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ghost hunting"
in 8 reviews
"love history"
in 2 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"stacey"
in 10 reviews
"prayer"
in 2 reviews
"vacation"
in 5 reviews
"tn"
in 2 reviews
"smokies"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Had a group of six and was excited to hear about the haunts of Gatlinburg. Tour guide showed up late, that was ok. After the first 15 minutes we realized this was not going to be a fun time. The only one amused by the guides jokes was him. We spent 3 hours listening to him ramble about stories he probably made up! Please read past reviews and take other reviewers advice. Don't waste your time and money on this tour you will regret it!

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank cat64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Guest...

We are sorry you did not have a good time, but to say anything about the stories told as "probably made up" is not only unkind, but inaccurate. All stories in history are researched thoroughly and well documented. Also, we present a Christian perspective on the afterlife and many folks enjoy the positive and fun approach. Just because you didn't have a good time doesn't mean others didn't on the tour. Many of our past guests highly recommend us to others and we see them in other towns on other tours thereafter. May your journey ahead be a joyous one!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I would highly recommend this tour for families and anyone looking to have fun and learn about the history and hauntings of Gatlinburg. Our tour guide led us on a very entertaining and informative tour. I was really impressed with the tour guide's knowledge of the history of the area and with the ghost stories of the area. The tour was about 2 hours long but time went by very fast. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank willaw0672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Guest...

Thank you so very much for your kind review of your recent tour in Gatlinburg. We look forward to seeing you again soon throughout Northeast Tennessee and Southwest where you'll learn more about the History, Mystery, and Legend of Southern Appalachia! God's blessings to you and yours with love, peace, and joy to you and your family!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Called last minute to get a tour of Gatlinburg and Stacey talked us into going to Dandridge saying Gatlinburg was sold out and he had 4 spots left for a Dandridge tour. Show up at 8:45 for our 9:00 tour and find out he is running late. Stacey finally shows up and then informs us he got a last minute call from another group and added them to our tour, so much for only 4 spots remaining and Gatlinburg being sold out...Have done ghost tours before in other cities and enjoyed them. This was by far the worst. We left mid tour, 2 hours after starting and only having walked a little more than one block! Others on the tour had already left before we did. Stacey was our guide and the tour was more about him than learning anything about the history of the town. He said at least 10 times "Imagine being me", no thanks. Tried to convince us a ghost was turning a light on and off behind the courthouse and then when we walked away from it we noticed the light continued to flicker on and off periodically. Someone else claimed to see a light flicker by a window in another house and he tried to claim the slaves he was talking about slept there, watched it happen again and it was clearly a lightning bug...He took pictures over and over at different angles with street and traffic lights in the background until an "orb" appeared... Biggest phony ever!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank woobiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Guest(s)... Thank you for your recent feedback on your tour. However, we did review your tour in detail from the audio recording of the presentation and have spoken with other guests who were booked on your tour. We found the presentation to be rich in the history and mysteries of Dandridge and found that your fellow tour guests very enjoyed the tour and gave the guide a substantial tip at the end of the night. The other guests who left had small children who had to get up the next morning and had told us that they might have to leave early, but would stay as long as they could and they did not leave for dissatisfaction. Finally, and to address your concerns about the tour being sold out, yes, it was, but we had some last minute postponements and the guide was not pre-disposed to discuss this. So sorry you didn't enjoy the tour, but thank you for giving us a try. As always, ten percent of our annual profits go to benefit St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital each year around Christmastime. As always, we encourage our guests to read all of the reviews and come and see for yourself why Appalachian GhostWalks was nominated and voted number two in the nation on USA Today's 10Best in 2015. You'll have a SPOOK-tacular good time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

While traveling last summer I looked up things to do in the Dandridge,TN area and I found Appalachian Ghostwalks! I called to make arrangements and was greeted by Stacey. He went out of his way to make our night memorable! I have never meet someone who was so passionate about his business. We enjoyed our Appalachian Ghost walk and would recommend it highly! Thank you SO much Stacey! I wish you and your wonderful business the very best!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Kristina... Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We loved having you and your family and friends and we would love to see you again when your journey brings you back to Southwest Virginia, East Tennessee, and the Smoky Mountains. Thank you so very much and God's blessings to you and yours for joy and happiness in all your journeys ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian GhostWalks - Haunted Historic Gatlinburg GhostWalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing