We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bearly Afraid was awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of chalet
Side of chalet Still
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Front of chalet
Side of chalet
Still
Kichen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room/fireplace
Kitchen/Living room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Wall décor in dining room
Wall décor in dining room
Downstairs bathroom
Top Of Stairs
Bullpin - Display area only
Pool Table/Game room
Pool Table/Game room
Pool Table/Game room
Upstairs bathroom
Blue Bear Cove
Blue Bear Cove
Gold Cub Cove
Gold Cub Cove
Gold Cub Cove
Gold Cub Cove
Back Deck
Back Deck
View of Mount Leconte
View of Mount Leconte
sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elizabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bearly Afraid was awesome”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We will definitely be staying here again. This was a beautiful chalet with breath taking views. Only negative is the drive way use extreme caution! Would definitely recommend this place to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was okay ...”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

First the really good - The view from the back porch area is pretty amazing; very open with a really good view of the mountains; a great place to sit, drink coffee and just chill. The place had all the things you need for either a short or long stay. Also, it was very quiet there; any neighbors were hidden away. The game stash is really good too - when we got bored (seldom) there was amble to do. Second the okay - The flooring seemed dated inside; the rugs, which are everywhere (didn't like the rugs) easily curl up, which happened constantly, and you can trip on them if you carouse in the night. Third, the questionable - I get it that people can misunderstand the wishes of the owners and they have been probably burned in the past. But it seems everywhere I turned there was an orange laminated sign telling what I can and cannot do. I was put off by that. Might be better to include that in the offer of the place. Fourth, the not good - If you think you are going to play pool in the place, forget it. The pool table is old, not level, and there is no room to play - there is barely room for the table. The driveway is a challenge and I wouldn't want to navigate out of the place at night, in the rain or bad weather. Getting in is no issue. Out is different.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA G
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at Barely Afraid. The views are spectacular and the accommodations are more than comfortable. The kitchen is so well-stocked that you don't need to bring anything with you at all. We found the owners to be very responsive and helpful. Thank you for providing a wonderful place for our getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauhrice...
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful place. The view was outstanding. Wonderfully decorated cabin. All of us enjoyed our stay. Just wish we had more time to enjoy being at the chalet. We were too busy going to Dollywood(a great day),sightseeing and going to the Aquarium (great experience as well). Loved our time in the mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam24612
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Bearly Afraid made us feel Completely Welcome!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Terry and OC made this the most enjoyable experience I have ever had with a vacation rental. Let me start by saying the chalet is fantastic! The view is spectacular and the decor of the chalet is very homey and welcoming. Both Terry and OC kept us to date on the road conditions as a strong wind and rain storm hit the week before we arrived. We were provided with alternate directions that got us there with no issues. If you are going to stay in the Gatlinburg area at all, then this is the chalet for you. I can not thank both Terry and OC for welcoming us into there home and giving my family the vacation that we all so desperately needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing