We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,469)
Filter reviews
3,469 results
Traveller rating
2,618
650
127
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,618
650
127
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel quiche wine and cheese local historian history talk civil war broughton street claw foot tub wood floors modern amenities within walking distance southern hospitality fourth floor rooms are small balcony room valet parking high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 3,469 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were fortunate to get the last room on a busy weekend. This historic hotel is everything we hoped for in downtown Savannah. The staff is gracious and helpful. Drinks and cheese in the drawing room with a wonderful local guitarist was beautiful. Breakfast was well done. Bonus - Homecoming parade on street in front as we checked out.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank baxkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear baxkathy,

We are so glad you were able to stay with us and enjoy our wonderful evening reception and entertainment. I'm happy you were able to witness some fun local events as well! We look forward to hosting you the next time you return to Savannah.

Safe Travels!

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Marshall House is a great place to stay when you're in Savannah. Rich in history itself as a home, as a hospital, as a hotel, The Marshall and its wonderful staff couldn't have been better. We arrived on a Sunday evening, just in time for wine and cheese and an interesting talk by a local historian on the city of Savannah and the history of The Marshall House. Every evening has wine & cheese - several nights a week they have someone speak on history & several nights they have an amazing harpist, Kristin. Truly worth being back at the hotel before you head out for the night to one of Savannah's amazing restaurants or pubs. The location of the hotel is also fantastic. You're never more than a few blocks from the river, City Market or one of the 22 squares in the historic district. We walked or hopped on and off the free DOT bus and did not need our car for most of our visit. The staff at the Marshall always greeted us in the mornings when we were leaving and on our return and always helpful with directions and suggestions. The rooms were charming and very clean - and although our floor had a slight tilt that had us laughing as our luggage steered itself - it all added to the atmosphere of a different era. Highly recommend The Marshall House for anyone visiting Savannah for business or pleasure!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navigator63868276575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Navigator,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! It means so much to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience, the history, the entertainment, reception, and staff. We are lucky to be able to work with Mike, our historian, and Kristin our talented harpist! Our team strives to create more an experience that is more than just a place to lay your head, and I thank you for sharing your appreciation with us. We look forward to your return visit!

Warm Regards,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in a balcony room for our honeymoon and loved being able to sit outside. The staff is extremely friendly and their breakfast is yummy! The beds are so comfortable... And while having TVs and mini fridges in the room, it still feels like you are in 1800s Savannah. I would highly recommend this for those wanting a historic experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SarahW111118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sarah,

Congratulations on your wedding! How fun that you got to enjoy one of our coveted balcony rooms... the view and people watching is just fantastic. We hope to welcome you back again!

Safe Travels!

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in pouring down rain and were cheerfully greeted by bellmen with umbrellas who unloaded our car. The hotel computers were down because of the storm and the GM, Hugh Osborne, graciously went behind the desk to manually accommodate my new request for a room facing the front. We were super surprised when we were shown access to the veranda from our room by Bernard who explained all of our room features to us! We were delighted when he showed us that one of the nightstands actually was a fridge and that there were bathrobes, an umbrella and a safe in the armoire. The room was lovely and the bed comfy. Very high ceilings and old wood floors were the highlights. The shower was terrific. Complimentary wine and cheese was offered in the large and elegant "living room" each night along with entertainment. The hotel's location could not have been better. We walked to The Pink House and to Collins Quarter, both excellent for dinner. The Old Savannah Trolley Tour's shuttle bus even picked us up in front of the hotel. We will definitely return!

Room tip: Ask for a tub if you want one when making a reservation.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your incredible review, compliments and recommendation! I am thrilled we were able to make you feel so welcome and at home. Hugh, Bernard and our entire team truly enjoy welcoming visitors and making them feel at home at the Marshall House. Thank you so much for your kind words, it means such a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe Travels!

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Marshall House is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a place to stay in the historic district of Savannah. My girlfriend and I arrived in a pouring down rain, and were immediately greeted by a smiling, helpful valet holding a big umbrella. We made a special request to have a room facing the front of this beautiful old hotel, and despite a down computer system, the General Manager (Hugh Osborne) jumped in and, in assisting his staff, manually found what turned out to be the perfect room; an upgrade from our original room at no additional cost. A comfortable room on the second floor with access (via a window!) to the gorgeous veranda, high ceilings and a small fridge inside the bedside table, we had an AC issue that was immediately tended to while we ate dinner around the corner in the Olde Pink House. The per night rate was very reasonable and all through our two night stay, the guest service by every employee we encountered was absolutely first class. I highly recommend The Marshall House and will be very pleased to book there again on our next trip to the beautiful city of Savannah.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Inspire31222356048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Inspire,

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so happy you got to enjoy our lovely veranda.... such a wonderful relaxing place to watch the world go by! Thank you so much for your kind compliments to our staff. We love meeting and hosting guests from all over the world, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to beautiful Savannah.

Best Wishes,

Kaitlin / Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews