We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Second Bank of the United States
Save
  
Ways to Experience Second Bank of the United States
from US$28.50
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$19.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
46
56
18
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
56
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portrait gallery founding fathers bank building their lives paintings history information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

I took a quick self-guided tour of the bank. It was free and the rangers were friendly. I saw many portraits of the Founding Fathers. There is a lot of history which occurred within this area.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank TennisStar602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019

The museum has nice portraits of the founding fathers with good descriptions. It was interesting to go through. When we were there they were also offering various slide shows/lectures. We went to one on Benedict Arnold -- which was an hour long, full of information and very interesting. All free. I think it is only open on weekends now (November).

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank flo220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

This building currently holds an exhibit of portraits of important colonial figures. Very interesting to see.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

Amazing to see pictures of some of the founding fathers. I'd not seen paintings of Adams or others before. Fascinating snippets of their lives. Would have liked more info on some. Lovely building and well laid out. Enjoyed this gallery with a difference !

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Andrew-Leakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

The Second Bank, aka old Customs House, is a museum within Independence National Historical Park. There is essentially one gallery full of portraits of all the luminaries from the Revolutionary generation, many painted by Charles Willson Peale. An exhibit on Peale's museum is in a side room. I usually love portrait galleries (like the Smithsonian's exemplar in D.C.) but there is something uninspiring about the way this gallery is presented. It's one big room with the portraits hung on interior panels with basic bio labels. Don't get me wrong. I recommend a visit here just don't expect an engaging art museum.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews