We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday lunch”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Ranked #450 of 13,566 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: SoHo
Reviewed 14 August 2019 via mobile

Just arrived in nyc for our 8th visit - from New Zealand. Overnight flight so a bit fuzzy so a lunch booked ahead at Balthazar with the in local crowd is the way to arrive in nyc. Fantastic food - hurrays salad and tart pretemps were great. Amazing space place and old fashioned vibe, many staff working like a well oiled machine. Huge mirrors and lots going on.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Brownkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 6,374 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

First impressions were excellent and the service and menu choices were plentiful. Our waiter took the time to explain the menu and wine options. The food was excellent and plentiful . If you like French food this is a must in New York ...

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank ackermann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

We went to eat lunch at Balthazar. We were quickly seated even if the restaurant was packed. The atmosphere was wonderful; French inspired, buzzing and busy. Felt like we were in Paris. The food came quickly and it tasted great. A big selection of good wines. The service was impeccable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank kensvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Crowded and pretty expensive but still. It is a must. This lively bistro in SoHo I just a must. Especially nice on Sunday brunch.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank 88magnusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2019

Balthazar continues to pop with energy and has a fun vibe as soon as you enter. Friday night dinner here was packed ( we had reservation and were seated immediately) Nice selection of wines and waiter was super. A selection of fresh oyster started our meal. Cold & tasted like the ocean. I had Branzino and it was delicious. Steak was also excellent. For dessert I had peach tart.
Excellent meal that never disappoints.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Kerryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.