We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tribute”

The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Ranked #3 of 1,138 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Through commemoration, exhibitions and educational programs, The National September 11 Memorial & Museum, a nonprofit in New York City, remembers and honors the 2,983 people killed in the horrific attacks of September 11, 2001, and February 26, 1993, as well as those who risked their lives to save others and all who demonstrated extraordinary compassion in the aftermath of the attacks.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve done most of the NYC “touristy” things in the past, but I have never seen the completed 911 museum. Thinking it would be just another museum visit (interesting, but not impactful) was underestimating the experience by far. I have never been so proud to be an American, yet so sad all at the same time. They have done an excellent job of personalizing the museum and making us connect not just as a country, but also with the individuals whose lives were taken that day. Many of the exhibits are prohibited from pictures, as they should be because they are so personal in nature. I’ve watched many shows about 911 and of course I will never forget that day and how we felt as a nation after that horrific incident, but being on the hallowed ground and seeing the actual remnants of the buildings, the personal belongings of the individuals, hearing the voices of messages to and from loved ones, and of course the NYPD and NYFD memorabilia literally brought me to tears. It was almost overwhelming at times, but still not an experience to be missed. Well done NYC, well done. May God rest and bless the souls we lost that day...Proud to be an American. We will never forget.....

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank JudyB532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 3,741 reviews
"beautiful tribute"
in 1,198 reviews
"twin towers"
in 2,495 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 972 reviews
"loved ones"
in 1,052 reviews
"new york"
in 5,897 reviews
"first responders"
in 757 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 1,209 reviews
"emotional experience"
in 1,294 reviews
"survivor tree"
in 610 reviews
"guided tour"
in 1,641 reviews
"visiting nyc"
in 688 reviews
"the world trade center"
in 578 reviews
"freedom tower"
in 764 reviews
"victims"
in 4,649 reviews
"names"
in 5,340 reviews
"tragedy"
in 3,413 reviews
Filter

482 - 486 of 85,577 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You should not miss visiting this memorial and museum. It provides all the history of 9/11 as well as the prior bombing of the World Trade Center. There are numerous artifacts from the buildings themselves, as well as fire trucks, ambulances from the first responders. There are some smaller theaters that provide short films, explaining the Pentagon attack and Pennsylvania plane crash also. You can see the footings of the original towers and photos of all the victims. It is very moving and an emotional experience. There is a fee to view the museum. You can view the reflecting pools outside for no charge.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank norinec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Check your bag and jacket in for free then make your way round this museum. You could easily spend a full day here. It is everything you think it will be: somber, educational, thought provoking and touching.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank David9_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked online just entrance for 10am. We arrived at 9.15 and was allowed entry no queue straight through security. Once we were inside we decided to upgrade to a guided tour our tour lady was wonderful. Very informative and friendly. The museum is a very emotional place and would recommend to all visiting the city.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JennyJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good historical detail but some we found were not all that relevant such as children’s thank you cards to Firemen for instance.

It’s very crowded even in November so get ready for the queues!

I also think it’s too dark in some places as you can hardly see where you are going!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank groovybaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing