We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCE STAYING AT THE BAHIA”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This was our third time staying at the Bahia. Once again we had a great second floor room with balcony overlooking the bay. The room was excellent. They must use high end mattresses as ours was as comfortable as what we have at home. The kitchenette feature is nice as we had a microwave and coffee maker-with plenty of coffee packs.

We had breakfast in the on site restaurant all 3days of our stay. The meals were tasty and large. The wait staff were all so nice, especially Dani. She was attentive to our every need and so full of enthusiasm.

One of the best features that the Bahia has to offer, as I have stated in previous feedback, is the wonderful "California atmosphere". Palm trees, lush lawns, quite area and leisure luxury.

The entire staff seemed to enjoy working with their guests, from the front desk check in to the maid service.

For any first time visitors to San Diego I really feel that this is one resort experience that you wil truly enjoy. It's not all chrome and glass like so many cookie cutter hotels but a nice laid back relaxing place to stay.

A look at the many pictures of the Bahia features on their web site will give anyone a good idea as to what to expect.

Also it's an easy 5 minute walk to the beach area with dozens of various shops.

TRY IT-YOU'LL LIKE IT.........

Room Tip: Our 3 stays all were on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the bay-worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Director of Rooms at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Norm! The Bahia is truly a gem to the area and we are so happy you got to experience it again. We take pride in our 14-acre grounds, where you can find everything from a seal sanctuary to a thriving garden and duck pond. We have been located on the beautiful Mission Bay for over 60 years. Once again we thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 4,134 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

We had our annual holiday party on the Bahia Bell, the event was a hit and all of the staff was a pleasure to work with! From booking the event with Taylor Smith, to Holly Nelson handling the coordination and Jorge Macias organizing the banquet. Thank you!

Room Tip: Bay view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Director of Rooms at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, Teresa! We are thrilled that your holiday party was a success. Our Catering and Banquets departments really put their all into making each event special and memorable for everyone. We are lucky to have Taylor, Holly, and Jorge at the Bahia. It is certainly no wonder that The Bahia Hotel has been an icon in San Diego for more than 50 years. The Bahia is a family owned property that relies on social media, so once again, we appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I own a boat and have it docked at the Bahia Resort Marina..My wife and I live out of town. We arrived the week before Thanksgiving for what was supposed to be an extended Holiday. When we arrived we knew we had a serious issue that prevented us from staying on board. It was late and Aaron, the Manager, made it much better for my wife and I. He upgraded us to a room near our boat to help it be more convenient during repairs. We ended having to come back and Alex at the front desk also helped us with special consideration. it is so nice to know that in such a large property, the staff genuinely seem concerned for the comfort and welfare of their guests. Thanks to the owner Mr. Evans who sets the culture and the staff like Aaron and Alex who carry it out. Thanks. Frank C.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank v4vconcerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Director of Rooms at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled that Aaron and Alex were able to exceed your customer service expectations in your unfortunate situation. They are prime examples of guest satisfaction and we are lucky to have them. For 60 years, The Bahia Resort Hotel has been offering family fun with no extra charges such as resort fees or parking fees! We are a family owned property that relies on social media, so once again, we appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We were so thankful for Kevin and Tre! They helped us tremendously! Great costumer service, we ate at their restaurant great servers especially Joe and Maria! Clean rooms comfortable I recommend getting the suite with the extra room. Good value we are so blessed to have this fun get away.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Director of Rooms at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review, Liz! We are glad to hear that Kevin, Tre, Joe, and Marie were able to accommodate you during your stay. We thank you for taking the time to recognize their hard work and dedication to creating memories for our guests. Our prime location right on Mission Bay makes the Bahia perfect for any number of popular San Diego activities including water and land sports like sailing, surfing, water skiing, biking, skating, and so much more. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Great location and comfortable room, but best of all were the employees. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Big shout out for Daniel O. from the engineering dept. who responded immediately to help me with an issue in the room that was quickly resolved. I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Bay views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruzerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Director of Rooms at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that Daniel was able to assist you promptly and professionally! He is a true asset to our maintenance team. To keep our guests busy, we offer many complimentary amenities including tennis courts and shuffle board courts. Our rescue harbor seals, Billy and Gracie, also love to greet our guests with a friendly hello, so next time you come to visit make sure to go visit our seal pool! Once again we appreciate your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#47 of 286 in San Diego
2,489 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,034 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,688 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $192 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing