We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
460
373
134
67
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
373
134
67
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace gaslamp district convention center antique furniture quaint hotel petco park chain hotels valet parking balcony room small balcony within walking distance ceiling fan restaurants and bars an older hotel the staff was friendly and helpful street noise valet service
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

What a nice hotel right in the perfect position, although very close to gaslamp quarters, you are removed from the hustle and bustle. Walk to all facilities such as Gaslamp Quarters, USS Midway, convention centre. Conveniently from Airport.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Johann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We stayed at the Horton Grand for 2 days in April 2018 in a Balcony King room. We were on the 4th floor, above the trees overlooking the courtyard. Room 433. Easy check in, and the room was fantastic with so much character. Walking distance to so many bars and restaurants and less than 5 minutes to Petco Park. Took us about 25 minutes to walk to the USS Midway along the waterfront. Especially enjoyed the lemon water that was available in the lobby! Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard can be loud if an event is going on.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellybor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The hotel is located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, and evokes the history of the area. It's clean and comfortable. The room I had was not as large as a modern, corporate hotel room, but was adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful, and seemed to know the area well. I was able to catch a local bus from the airport, and walk three blocks to the door, for those inclined to use public transportation. The stay was short, so I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant, as there are many dining options a short walk away. The room rate was very reasonable. I'll stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sfojws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We stayed at the Horton Grand Hotel for four days while visiting the San Diego area. The Horton is conveniently located about six blocks from the waterfront, and in the heart of the Gaslight District, with its many options for dining.
We had a king size bed on the fouth floor, which was comfortable (lovely shower) and furnished with varying storage dressers and a wardrobe. Fortunately, a refrigerator was hidden in one of the cabinets, and the $5.00 bottles of water could be replaced by one you have bought yourself.
The courtyard is a wonderful place to enjoy coffee, breakfast or an afternoon drink. Some rooms with small balconies open on to the area, and it is always cooler than the outside temperature.
Staff was friendly, car valets were quick and polite, and desk people were helpful with recommendations.
Suggestions: try to reserve an inside room as there seems to be a lot of "outside activity" that goes on at night. Be aware that there is a $45.00 per night parking fee (plus tips), and, test the warmth of the coffee before leaving-it seems the coffee at the buffet can occasionally "go cold."
Otherwise, a fine place to stay!

Room tip: Rooms facing inward are quieter
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

The location in the Gaslamp Quarter is perfect -- tons of restaurants and bars, walk to Petco Park for baseball, longer (but easy) walk to the Marina. Hotel is older, with many vintage touches, but the rooms are big and comfortable. Fireplace and balcony are an added touch that you just don't see too often anymore. People were VERY friendly and helpful (I add this because there were many YELP reviews that hammer the people and, to a lesser extent, the hotel --- I almost hesitated and am very glad I did not --- do NOT listen to them). I would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends (who are not wed to the "brand new" hotel experience).

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are probably the best. A nightclub across the street was louder at night -- courtyard rooms better.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews