We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in a fabulous location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Inside the front gate you'll find the main entrance in the private front patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inside the front gate you'll find the main entrance in the private front patio
Enjoy your Morning Coffee on the Private Patio, Inside the Gated Front Entrance The moment you enter the front door, you will feel right at home - comfort with modern conveniences
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Inside the front gate you'll find the main entrance in the private front patio
Enjoy your Morning Coffee on the Private Patio, Inside the Gated Front Entrance
The moment you enter the front door, you will feel right at home - comfort with modern conveniences
Spacious Living Room with comfortable seating, premium TV and a gas fireplace for those cool nights
The bright and airy Dining Room has kitchen access and beautiful views to the private front patio
Separate Dining Room with seating for six with views to the tropical front garden
Enjoy family meals in a separate dining room, with handcrafted dinnerware and easy kitchen access
A bright and sunny kitchen with windows to the lush landscape, skylight and abundant counter space
The breakfast bar is the perfect spot to enjoy a light meal and chat with the chef
A fully stocked  kitchen with expansive work space, breakfast bar & plenty of storage in the pantry
New gas range, coffee maker, electric kettle and refrigerator with filtered water and ice maker
Pack Light: we have a high capacity washer/dryer, laundry detergent, stain booster & dryer sheets
Spacious master bedroom with California king bed and direct access to tropical courtyard
Your bedroom sanctuary leads to an enormous en-suite bathroom and over-sized tub and walk-in closet
Elegant 'spa inspired' master bathroom with separate over-sized tub, large shower and walk-in closet
Plenty of closet space, built-in storage and counter space for short-stays or extended visits
Enjoy a luxurious and relaxing soak in your over-sized bath tub. Bath insert available for babies.
Large walk-in shower with designer Antica Farmacista shampoo, conditioner and shower gel
Second bedroom with queen bed has direct access to the tropical courtyard through the French Doors
Second bedroom with queen bed adjoins the second bathroom and has direct access to courtyard
The second bathroom can be accessed from the second bedroom and the laundry room
The enchanting courtyard can be accessed from the kitchen and both bedrooms
Relax to the soothing trickle of the fountain in the tropical courtyard and watch the hummingbirds
Take advantage of San Diego`s beautiful weather and dine al fresco for breakfast, lunch or dinner
Full-sized gas barbecue grill  with grilling tools and propane tanks. Patio Heater also available.
This enchanting courtyard has plenty of comfortable seating, a dining table for 6 a BBQ and fountain
The Murphy bed tucks away easily when not in use
and flips down in seconds to accommodate two additional guests on a very comfortable queen mattress
Casa Paloma Site Plan - 1,600 square foot, single family house with generous outdoor living space
Watercolor Painting of the Courtyard, by local artist
An 'easy-to-start' gas fireplace for ambiance or for those rare, chilly nights
Casa Paloma: a Classic Spanish Revival tucked in a in peaceful, residential Mission Hills community
Casa Paloma is set in a peaceful cul-de-sac in Mission Hills
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fb7049126...
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing. It's the second time we've stayed here with our two boys (now 4.5 and 2.5). Our boys love the fountain in the back courtyard and all the interesting nooks and crannies. We can rest assured that they are safe because the property is secured from the road (i.e. they can't get out!). The house is on a quiet cul-de-sac near the zoo, downtown, restaurants and shopping and has easy access to a number of beaches within fifteen minutes or so. All the conveniences needed are in the house and the master bathroom has had a lovely remodel. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Graeme- we are so happy that you, your wife and your 2 beautiful boys enjoyed your second stay at Casa Paloma. Also, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough feed-back about our vacation home. We really appreciate your valuable comments!
All the best, until we may welcome you again in San Diego - it's always a pleasure to host your stay.

Birgit, Cindy & Paula
Next Stop: San Diego
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
svk342016
Mount Kisco, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our month at Casa Paloma was idyllic.”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Paloma is ideally situated in the lovely Mission Hills section of San Diego, close to downtown, the waterfront, and the magnificent Balboa Park--all the places one wants to see and go. It is located on a quiet cul de sac, with easy parking in front and a welcoming courtyard entry.

A spacious living room and dining room plus a bright, skylit, eat-in kitchen (extraordinarily well equipped), and an adjacent laundry area provided ample space for indoor living and entertaining. The large and very private master bedroom and bath and the second bedroom, also with private bath, both opened onto an utterly delightful courtyard, comfortably furnished with sofas and a dining table for six. It's hard to say which we enjoyed more: eating in the courtyard among the flowering vines and trees, with the soothing background of the fountain, or exploring the many excellent nearby restaurants. (Our favorites: Cafe Bleu, Farmers Bottega, and The Red Door.) We had two sets of guests during our month-long stay, and all agreed that Casa Paloma was nothing short of nirvana.

Having Casa Paloma's owners next door was a special plus. Any questions were answered immediately and even the slightest request was fulfilled without delay. Paula and Keith couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the opportunity to be their neighbors. The proof is in the pudding: we have already booked for next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Susan -- we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to San Diego and your stay at Casa Paloma. We truly enjoying having you as neighbors and look forward to your visit next February. Let us know if your family will make it out to San Diego during baseball season and we will set aside a pair of our season tickets! Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilly2016
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“Calm, clean and cute”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

It is always a bit of a chance using VRBO if you have not seen the property but we really got lucky here. It was very clean, in a great neighbourhood, and a wonderful little house. Had everything that we needed, spent time in the courtyard, BBQ worked really well, beds were comfy, and loads of hot water for showers. Found the staff very helpful and they are really well organized. There is not a bad restaurant in the neighbourhood and grocery store is close. Would definately stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was very comfortable.
Liked least: Parking was a bit crowded
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you for your your wonderful feedback, and we are really looking forward to seeing you again. You were a pleasure to work with!
Cheers,
Birgit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb S
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Casa Paloma is an jewel. This well-equipped house is in a superb location and the owners have thought of everything imaginable to make the experience a good one.The beautiful patio is a big bonus.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Barb - Thanks for choosing to stay at Casa Paloma for your visit to San Diego. We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayjun
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis Escape”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we first arrived at Casa Paloma parking on the street in front, and entered the property through a gated wall, we immediately felt the privacy of this property even though it is located conveniently in a neighborhood within close proximity to restaurants and a short distance to local attractions. Being Houstonians we were a bit surprised by only one a/c window unit in the master, however, the owners did have the windows cranked open and there was an evening breeze. It happened to be unusually warm for southern Cal but by the next morning it was pleasant & it remained that way for the remainder of our stay. As we entered in the late evening that first night we were greeted with battery operated candles, an immaculate presentation, & a delicious bottle of wine with a couple of water bottles in the fridge. The house is decorated with the architecture in mind and yet so comfortable. My absolutely favorite part was the private garden terrace with greenery, a water fountain, & a variety of seating. It was just what we needed-privacy, convenience, and communication with the owners as needed-which we didn't because everything was great. If you want an private oasis to escape and relax and yet conveniently located then choose Casa Paloma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden terrace
Liked least: no option for central a/c but it's Cali
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Casa Paloma. When you return to San Diego, you'll be happy to know Casa Paloma how has Central Air Conditioning, plus we've remodeled the kitchen and Master Bathroom since your visit. We hope to see you again soon, Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing