We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #10 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at this Hilton Garden Inn and overall it was good value and a pleasant place to stay. Staff were helpful and looked after us well - a shout-out to Amanda at the front desk. Rooms are large with comfy beds, with a little wear and tear visible but kept clean. There is no in-room safe so for those with precious valuables you'd have to put them in the hotel safekeeping. Rooms have a microwave and an empty bar fridge, but there is no cutlery or crockery (not even a bottle cap opener) so this is a "dine-out" location - though you need only go to the hotel restaurant which is alongside the lobby. The breakfast was fine if you are in a hurry - there are many great breakfast spots within 10 minutes' drive if you prefer. WiFi is complementary for Hilton Honours members (sign up free) and besides the annoyance of having to reregister your devices every day, worked well including for Netflix. Ample free parking, a workable gym, a good lunch deli (apparently the best in the area according to local friends), and a small pool complete the picture. No complaints at all, would happily return if we had business or a family event in the nearby suburbs.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollysinclair39, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Good morning Danny K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a thorough review. We appreciate all the excellent feedback on the rooms, services, and your preferences. Additionally, we are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you would happily return! Looking forward to it.

Sincerely,
Molly Sinclair
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

A little better in terms of service compared to standard Hilton Garden Inns.

I like that breakfast is presented in a menu, instead of usual semi buffetstyle.
Nice jar of berry infused water always in the lobby.

Room or standard comfy HGI fare.

Missing a star for carpets that could be could be replaced. At least in room 422.

Otherwise 5 stars (or 5 dots in TA)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollysinclair39, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Good afternoon pvcnco,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations of service at other Hilton Garden Inns, and that our breakfast food impressed you at our restaurant, Bistro 39. We are refreshing the rooms for the new year, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Molly Sinclair
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Zenobia Hilton Garden, Rianna and Christina at Homewood Suites were outstanding make us feel like home super super friendly will recommend to friends will definitly return very soon. Please reward them

Room Tip: happy with both TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lvenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollysinclair39, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Good evening lvenant,

Thank you for your review. We are elated that you found our staff to be outstanding and made you feel at home. Many of our guests do refer to our properties as their second home. We look forward to your "very soon" return!

Yours in Hospitality,
Molly Sinclair
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The Hilton Garden Inn Del Mar was a great experience. The room and amenities were as expected - comfortable and pleasant. Both Zenobia and Tina at the front desk were very helpful and professional. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skiphuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollysinclair39, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Good evening skiphuntress,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a perfect trip in San Diego at our property. Zenobia and Tina are certainly some of our best staff members. We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
Molly Sinclair
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The front desk attendant Amanda was very helpful and friendly when my coworkers arrived to the Hilton Garden Inn in Del Mar. She welcomed us with a smile and had our rooms ready in no time. I will be back soon enough.

Room Tip: Ask for Amanda she is knowledge and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank curleyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollysinclair39, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Good afternoon curleyscott,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's terrific to hear that Amanda at the Front Desk was cheerful and welcoming. Looking forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Molly Sinclair
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $180 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing