We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$316
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$279
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$141
Lafayette Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$256
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$608
US$510
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
171
242
142
57
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
242
142
57
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centergreat locationsuper shuttlewindow acstreet noiseyogurtroom was small but cleanfree shuttle from the airporteggs and sausagefree breakfastcoffee makerbudget hotelpetco parkfree internet accessmicrowave and fridgerestaurants and barswithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is clean, reasonably priced, and convenient--close enough to walk anywhere in the district in just a few minutes. They offer a great breakfast, with hot food (eggs, sausages, pancakes, waffles) as well as a selection of fruits and other usual breakfast items. They also have a good business center for printing, etc. To top it all off, they provide a bag of microwave popcorn (and a microwave)!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAdude123, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Cris Vasquez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are clean , we had 2 rooms beside each other , but they were a little small as expected, but with all amenities included . They are fresh and neat . Very clean and nicely maintained. The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Viraj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAdude123, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay!

Cris Vasquez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is excellent. Right in the middle of the Gas Lamp area. Full of a variety of restaurants and bars. Staff are the best I’ve come across. Good breakfast included. Great to have coffee available all day. Laundry facilities inexpensive and quick Building is old as are the furnishings .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank christine205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAdude123, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We hope to see you again.

Cris Vasquez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So I was hesitant to put up this review since I don't like posting less-than-4* reviews. But for informative purposes, to help you weigh your options on your next San Diego trip, here it is:

Comfort Inn (Gaslamp Qtrs): My overall rating = 3*

PROS:
- LOCATION! Location alone is 4-5*. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarters downtown. Very lovely walkable paths, convenient, e-scooters and e-bike rentals on every corner. I even walked all the way to Seaport Village and back. Was nice and scenic.
- Breakfast included. Unlike some hotels that make you pay extra for breakfast.
- Decent basic amenities provided: business center, self-service laundry, gym access; note that the gym is not in the inn building, it's actually a couple blocks away in another building. You get free access with your inn card.
- Impressively high speed internet. I didn't expect this from 2-3* lodgings. Thumbs up there.
- My room had some odor issues, but the staff did their best to try to make me feel at home. There's not much they could do though because the entire building is quite old. But props to the staff for their hospitality and caring attitude.
- Price. It's unbeatably low. But yes, you get what you pay for. Still, if you're going to spend most of the day touring outside, this is a decent place to sleep at night.

CONS:
- Old building. Dated layout. Sink in bedroom, right next to the bed. They did refurbish with some newer furnishings and do their best for maintenance, but it's still an old building. You can smell the dankiness (and some other unpleasant odors) in the hallways and even the room. Some strange smells on the hairdryer too.
- Like I said, you get what you pay for. Don't expect the Hyatt here. There is no swimming pool. It's a decent place to sleep at night, and a great location on the heart of the Gaslamp Quarters, but it is no Hyatt. FAR from it. That's all I can say. I'm being nice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Sitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was great and the service was even better. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with regard to my questions about the local area. I will stay here again when I return to San Diego. The bed was good and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAdude123, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much.

Cris Vasquez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews