We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
446
237
91
49
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
237
91
49
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old jail charles river beacon hill clink restaurant prison theme alibi bar mass general hospital starwood property resort fee cool hotel lobby area is hotel guests restaurants and bars amazing hotel checking in rooms are nice favorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

As Platinum SPG members, we have been very lucky to experience the various offerings from this hotel chain and feel like we have a good idea of what to expect from the various brands. Given that this is a Luxury Collection property (which comes at an up-market price) and the interesting architecture/history of the location, we were expecting an exceptional stay and very excited about our trip. Instead, we were practically hit in the face with a W hotel-style atmosphere, and a stay that was not at all in line with what we were hoping for. First, for those who care deeply about the benefits of SPG Platinum status, our status benefit wasn’t recognized at check in— which I didn’t particularly care about, but wanted to point out. Shampoo/Soaps are provided in large pump stations inside of a very small shower stall that leaked water all over the floor due to it not having a seal strip at the bottom of the door. The lotion bottle was never replaced, despite being nearly empty. An empty champagne glass was never removed from our room the entire stay (and yes: we left a tip for housekeeping each morning and kept the room tidy). While our room location was quiet, during each evening of our 3 night (Thurs-Sun) stay, a DJ pumped dance music at a volume expected at a nightclub. Patrons danced and drank freely in the main lobby area, which is where overnight guests needed to walk through in order to get to the elevators/their rooms. I did not appreciate this evening’s spectacle—a ticketed costume party— which we were not aware of when we booked our stay. We had to shove our way through a packed entrance line of intoxicated, costumed adults just to prove we were (despite being in plain clothes and carrying a shopping bag) staying at the hotel. I don’t like to be a grump about this, but it would have been nice if they roped off an area to allow for paying overnight guests to freely get to our rooms, or had a separate entrance/line for the party goers to check in. Had we known this was a W hotel masking as a Luxury Collection property, we would definitely have found another place to stay, and at a much lower price point too. We were really looking for a quiet, relaxing visit and are feeling disappointed from this experience. However, if you enjoy the W Times Square (which I have stayed at, and have calibrated expectations to), then you will be just fine here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank PearlGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THELIBERTYHOTEL, Front Office Manager at The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than exceptional. While we do have an active nightlife atmosphere at The Liberty Bar on the weekends, we never except it to interfere with the comfort of our hotel guests. I'm sorry to hear that you were not a fan of our full-size Molton Brown luxury bath amenities, which are environmentally friendly. We apologize for the misses with your daily Housekeeping service as this is certainly our of the norm and not our service standard. As you mentioned, we did have our annual Halloween event on Saturday 10/27; this information was communicated to all hotel guests prior to check-in and we apologize for any potential miscommunication here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel initially due to the proximity of the convention center - and the fact that it was at the foot of Beacon Hill. Pleasantly surprised by the history of this former jail site and the decor that supported the theme. No SPG welcome here - no perks at all. However, we did enjoy the view - which we paid for. The vibe surrounding the bar and the atrium of the hotel in the evening was friendly and welcoming. But what really made us decide to come again in the future - was the staff. Nice welcome at the front desk, a helpful concierge (so appreciated the gentleman with the Italian heritage), and an attentive Liberty limo driver that made traveling the great city of Boston an easy experience. Thanks Alex!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LorraineA827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

The hotel is very close to the subway station. The location is great. The hotel was rebuilt from a jail that no longer in use. Decorations are under 'Jail' theme. That history makes it interesting.

We booked the room very last minute and didn't specify the room type. When my husband and I checked in, we were given a room with 2 double beds on the 2nd floor (the same floor as the restaurants and lobby located). Then we went back to the reception and requested for a room with one king bed. Then we were given a room on the 3rd floor, with a king size bed and it's much quieter. But, why weren't we given this room in the first place? Overall, it is still a nice place if you want to explore Boston.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

The Liberty has a long way to travel to become a luxury hotel. There was no premium cable typical to luxury hotels that at least have HBO. There was no evening turn down service, in spite of asking about same. Housekeeping did not replenish soaps and typical hotel personal items. The bed in our room was a mere platform with an older sagging mattress. The water pressure in the very small apx. 40 in by 40 in shower was insufficient for a shower, bearly a dribble. Fixtures in the bathroom needed repair from sink faucets to the shower control. The furniture in the very cool lobby was in serious need of replacement and recovery. Given the luxury hotels in Boston it may be best to select another venue at the same price. Generally speaking this is a nice older mid level hotel seriously overpriced and by no means a luxury property.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank jerry18361836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THELIBERTYHOTEL, Front Office Manager at The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you for sharing this review and I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we missed your guest room on turndown, we apologize for this oversight. Our guests rooms were renovated in 2016 so we are surprised by this feedback and do hope that you will consider The Liberty for future travels to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We love coming into Boston to celebrate special occasions in our lives. And when we do, our favorite place to stay is at the Liberty Hotel. As many times as we've stayed at the Liberty, our experiences have been nothing short of exceptional. As returning guests, they go out of their way to welcome us back.
From the moment you are greeted by Doorman C.J.,checked-in with Brian, welcomed to the lobby by Yigit, the new assistant manager at the Clink, and sip on some incredible cocktails, you too, will feel like a valued guest. Thank you, Liberty for yet another memorable experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HapBresnahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews