We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subpar”
Review of Arya Trattoria

Arya Trattoria
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 05/08
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #80 of 3,098 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: North End
Transit: Haymarket goverment center
Description: Old World Italian meets modern sophistication. Our connection to this restaurant dates back to when Chef/Owner Massimo was the bread boy at the late Scalinatella restaurant. To further add to the synchronicity of this location, Massimo’s baptism reception was also held in this exact locaton some 30 years ago at the old ‘il sole’ restaurant. Please join the Tiberi family and experience a dream come true.​​
Reviewed 11 June 2021

The food and service at this restaurant were not good. We ordered the dates wrapped in prosciutto stuffed with cheese - they were slimy and had little flavor. We had the lobster gnocchi. The gnocchi were extremely hard as was the lobster - almost inedible - with sauce just slopped on top. We also had the pork shank - which was very tender but covered with a flavorless sauce. They were in such a rush to serve us that our salad came out with our dinner. Someone in our group ordered the pistachio martini - it tasted like pudding and she only drank 1/2 since it was way too sweet. Really, nothing at all about the entire dinner was acceptable.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zOe26347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2021 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation so had high hopes. I ordered the halibut special ($40) which was ok but not great. Portion was small and side of potatoes consisted of 6 small, overcooked halves. The broccoli/spinach consumed most of the plate. My wife ordered the surf and turf. The filet they served was what most restaurants call pot roast. It was small, ordered medium rare, came out medium to medium well, and tasted of salt and rosemary. The “turf” was half of a chicx lobster tail, literally 2-3 bites. Waiter checked in on us to see how things were as we were finishing our meal. I couldn’t have eaten the steak, but my wife did. We told him of our opinion of the meal, he said he was sorry and offered a free desert, which was the best part of the meal! Chocolate cake and an expresso martini. Won’t be returning there nor recommending it to anyone.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank bubba37130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021

THe food was good, as was the atmosphere. All good but they rudely kicked us out after 90 minutes with no warning. They should make it clear up front that there was no time for a leisurely conversation.

Also, the dining room was packed; inappropriately so for COVID times.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bostonvisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

There are many many restaurants in this neighborhood, and I’m sure many of those are great. That said, I think Arya Trattoria is absolutely a gem. On a beautiful October evening, we sat upstairs with the windows open, enjoying people watching down below. Our meal was spectacular, the service was wonderful, and the owner is proud of his beautiful and delicious restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank chapmane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

Fantastic dinner at this North End 2nd floor venue. Massimo made sure everything was done and delivered with perfection. Meatballs were as advertised - Best in Boston. Burrata salad - home made and delicious. Butternut squash pasta - perfect. Short ribs - awesome. Fruta di mare Fra Diavolo - wow! Veal chop - even better. All complemented by a nice Valpolicella and topped off with Tiramisu.

Date of visit: October 2020
4  Thank mikemughetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arya Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Arya Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.