We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location, Fun Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The Golden Slipper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Golden Slipper
Galley Galley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
The Golden Slipper
Galley
Galley
Galley and Main Salon
Main Salon
Main Salon
Aft State Room
Aft State Room
Aft State Room
Forward State Room
Forward State Room
Aft Deck
Aft Deck
Aft Deck
The Golden Slipper
View of Boston Harbor
Park at Lewis Wharf
Lewis Wharf Marina
View of Boston Harbor from water taxi
View of Boston Harbor from water taxi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boston, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Devon B
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Fun Experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was a fun, unique place to stay in the perfect location to explore Boston! We were met by the most extremely helpful and kind manager (Susan) who let us in a little early, gave us a full run down of the boat and made some local recommendations. She provided bottled water, milk (we requested half and half, and she kindly obliged), bagels, and lots of little snacks. The only negative things I can say for this adventure is if the temps are up, there is no air conditioning and you will be hot! The boat can get a bit stuffy, but they do have a lot of fans to try and circulate the air. The boat is older, so just expect what comes along with that... older appliances, plumbing, etc. The smell from the bathroom plumbing was a little annoying, but again... that's part of the adventure. How often do you actually stay on a boat in Boston Harbor??? We wouldn't recommend this to anyone who isn't able to move around easily... tight quarters. But all in all... we would definitely recommend this for a couple nights in Boston!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnmc19
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A tale of two halves”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and parents travelled with me to Cape Cod for ten days python we drove o Boston fr four nights, staying on The Golden Slipper.
The good - Location, Location, Location, it's superb, near everything, minutes from the Aquarium, trollies, Duck tours etc. Quincy market is A few minutes away and you are on the edge of the Italian District.
The beds are very comfy, it's quiet and we all slept well.
The deck is a real bonus, it's lovely to be able to sit outside.
We got a water taxi direct to the airport, it was a novel way to travel.
There was cereal, milk, coffee, bagels, cream cheese and a cake and a fantastic store a few minutes away. There are restaurants etc on the doorstep.

The bad - the Slipper is all original features, which is polite for VERY dated. I'm not saying it wasn't clean as it was but the dull and dreary decor makes it appear a bit grubby.
Space is at a premium and we struggled to find room for our stuff (we had large cases as we were away 2 weeks) but it wasn't too much of an issue, it is a boat after all. However, there are a LOT of ornaments and knicks knacks everywhere which makes it seem a bit chaotic.
The fridge appears to be original but the shelves are rusty, a bit off putting.
The shower in the small room is tiny and can only be used as a hand shower, there's no room to move and the curtain sticks o you (I'm only small, by the way). However it was fine for a few days and we never ran out of hot water.
There are TVs in both bedrooms which can only play DVDS, which are all quite old and middle-of-the-road. There's no TV in the lounge so you can't all watch together. This wasn't an issue for us but may bother others, there s a CD player, but not many CDs which is so a IPod dock.
There is no WIFI, if you want Internet you need to go to Starbucks on the corner.
The plumbing is dreadful, it was often smelly and backed up. Sometimes more comes back up than you flush down!!
I think it is a good choice for location and novelty value if you are only staying a night or two. However, if you like your home comforts or are staying any more than a couple of days, you prefer elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
We're so glad you chose our "Slipper" for your first boating experience. She's a classic Chris Craft & provides ample comfort for a party of four. We appreciate all the raves & constructive criticism. We don't get many negative comments, but we're listening.

Although most of our guests enjoy the vintage charm, we will always stay focused on any upkeep or maintenance needed. Sorry for your plumbing experience; this is uncommon, but during your stay the marine toilet became clogged, and this is what caused the back flow in your forward toilet. This required repair before the next guest arrived. Regarding the small shower, we do find that most of our guests prefer to share the aft shower, which includes a bath tub.

We have been taking advantage of Boston's free WI -FI, but have found this year to have limitations with this source. That being, WI-FI will be offered on the yacht in 2015.

We hope, now that you are seasoned to boat living, you will return for 2015, the start of our 24th year as Boston's first and original B&B Afloat.

Sincerely,

Gretchen & Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachRFM
Youngsville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location for visiting historic section of Boston.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our party of 4 spent two nights on the Golden Slipper in early September. This location was within walking distance of historic areas of Boston. The Golden Slipper provided a welcome oasis after a day of walking and visiting the landmarks of the city. The owners of the Golden Slipper were very welcoming and helpful in explaining the nuances of their boat. Overall a great experience.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrsdeck
Newburgh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Boston!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just spent a weekend on the Golden Slipper. It was an awesome choice. It was so nice being on the water and you can't beat the location - North End. Gretchen was very nice and provided helpful information. There were 4 of us and there was enough space to be comfortable. We loved hanging out on the deck in the evenings and having our coffee there in the morning. I recommend getting breakfast at Anthony's Cafe which is near by. The food was good and you can do take out. Overall this was a great option versus staying in a boring hotel:). We would definitely do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera C
Berlin, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great experience, location, weather, change of pace”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This vacation for my husband and myself was a gift from our son and daughter in law, who stayed with us. The four of us were comfortable, I think that 6 would be a little crowded. We were fortunate enough to have good weather to enjoy the open deck in the mornings and at night. It was fun staying on the boat, it added to the vacation. Would not be good for anyone with mobility issues... up and down the narrow stairs and boarding the boat could present a problem. It was a perfect location to use the on/off trolley tour. We parked at the Lewis wharf and didn't use our car again until the visit was over, cost was about $30 per day. We took public trans to Fenway for the ballgame, a win! Great vacation, we would like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: marine toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing