We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
917
523
184
88
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
523
184
88
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old state house court street great location faneuil hall freedom trail glass shower hardwood floors boutique hotel historic building quincy market the north end state street modern design street noise mini bar room service government center
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel. Good location. The rooms are big and are well fitted.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel. Great place to meet for a drink or lunch. Not sure it’s where I’d go for dinner but food is solid and good drinks list.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank GlobalAdventure67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words regarding our bar and restaurant, Cultivar. We're pleased you found your experience to be so enjoyable. We do hope to host you again in the near future should you return to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Ames last weekend while visiting friends in Boston. First, the good: its a great location if you want to be close to the historic sites and the North End, gym is small but nice, showers are hot, the decor is really beautiful, and the rooms are a great size for a city hotel. The not so good: no coffee in the room (I hate when hotels do this!!!), the breakfast wasn't up to par with other Curio Collection hotels I have stayed in (more like a Hilton Garden Inn or less), we always had to ask for our diamond status free perks like extra water, the sink in the bathroom was too small to hold a blow dryer or makeup, so it was difficult to get ready, and the bed and pillows were too firm for me (thats a preference, I know!). Anyways I would say this is a fine hotel for a quick stay, but I'd probably select somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lauren,

We're pleased you chose to stay with us for your weekend visit to Boston and that you were able to easily explore the city during your stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding the room amenities and food options, though we do regret to hear that these aspects of your visit were not up to standards. We value hearing directly from our guests so as to improve wherever we can. Should you like to continue this conversation, please give us a call at (617) 979-8100. For now, thank you again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the historical (but updated) feel of this property. The rooms are cool and eclectic with high ceilings and history. Each room is a little different. Rooms on the corner have windows on two sides. The staff were very nice, helpful and efficient. The room was very clean; beautiful bathroom features including a large, marble shower with high rain shower head. The location is amazing! Right downtown Boston in government center across the street from the old state house, now T stop. Very convenient to everything. We will definitely stay here again. No complaints except that there is no pool, so not very family friendly that way. There is a small fitness center open 24 hours.

Room Tip: If going with one bed, a king room or king suite is better than the single queen. Some corner rooms have windows on two sides.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kym,

What a fantastic review! Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your stay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel aesthetic, from the historical feel to the details of the room. We're pleased the staff added such warmth to your stay, as well. We do hope to have you back as you continue to #FindYourBoston. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Deluxe double very large room, large closet, large soaking tub with shower. Easy walk to major historic landmarks & Harbor, Aquarium, Carousel, Fanueil Hall. Small reception, limited room service, excellent breakfast. Take ear plugs- walls thin, but rooms super comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank MinaFina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mina,

We're pleased you chose to stay with us for your Boston getaway. Thank you for all of your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We couldn't be happier to hear that you found value in the location and that you enjoyed the food at Cultivar. In regards to noise, we would value discussing this feedback further in hopes to improve in the future. Please don't hesitate to call us: (617) 979-8100. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a very convenient location just one block from a T stop. The staff was very nice and helpful and the hotel was very nice. We were in a corner king room on the fifth floor with amazing windows and views of the city, but the noise level was not good. We ended up using a noise machine and slept like babies. I would suggest the hotel offer them as a perk.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aubredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, General Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you were able to #FindYourBoston due to the hotel's convenient location. We appreciate the staff and hotel compliments, as we strive to provide a welcoming and comfortable stay for our guests. Regarding the noise, we do regret to hear that you were disturbed during your stay and we would value diving further into this feedback should you feel comfortable calling us at (617) 979-8100. Thank you again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews