We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
340
303
69
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
303
69
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay window great location breakfast was included room facing yogurt stay there again fourth floor every morning restaurants and shops room was clean and comfortable great shopping prudential center stayed here for nights bed and breakfast short walk street noise boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

The Newbury is a very quaint guest house complete with full breakfast in the morning. We normally don't stay at small B&Bs but so glad we chose to stay here. The rooms are small but have just what you need for a weekend. Charming and welcoming and a perfect location on Newbury St. which is filled with small shops, restaurants, and coffee shops. Convenient to everything, easy to get around. The hotels run about the same price in this area, we walked by a few and were so happy NOT to be staying anywhere else because the location of the Newbury is perfect.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

As a first time traveler to Boston, I was very pleased with the choice of this hotel. Arriving at Boston Logan and armed with the helpful information from the Newbury desk ahead of our trip, my husband and I hopped on a city bus that dropped us off a block and a half from the hotel. Immediately we liked that Newbury Street is filled with small shops and restaurants, but looks like the residential neighborhood it is.
Newbury Guest House is a 32 room hotel that delivers. It has a well cared for feel and attention to detail is obviously important to this hotel. Desk staff is friendly and very helpful. The entry and large common room are elegant and well furnished with comfortable spots to sit for a coffee and pastry in the afternoon if you're not out sight seeing. Although our room faced the street, noise did not register one tiny bit as an issue. The room and bath were impeccable, immaculately kept, and well appointed. We appreciated that there was an elevator. Breakfast was fairly standard buffet with yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, croissants as well as a continuously refreshed eggs, meats, and potatoes. In sum, Newbury Guest House was a success and a great location for exploring this lovely city.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Family in a double bay at the back of the house. Breakfast was excellent, service was great and room was big enough for the family. When the weekend craziness started we were glad to be at the back of the hotel where it was quiet. Kids enjoyed the pastries in the afternoon.

Room tip: Back rooms are quiet
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank 850sylviam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The staff were extremely courteous and willing to help.My Dad and I arrived prior to check in but we were able to leave our bags as we explored the city. When we got back they had taken our bags to our room. Shower had plenty of hot water. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and large selection. The location is superb nearby to just about anything you would need or want.

Room tip: We had a room near the elevator and the elevator itself was loud.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Roving175898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Just got back after a week in Boston.
We stayed at the Newbury Guest House for the duration.
In terms of location, it is situated on Newbury St which is one of the busiest streets but is ideally placed to go east or west to the various sights and sounds. Nearest T stop is probably Prudential (which we used) or Copley on the Green Line. There are various eating places on Newbury and you are also adjacent to Boylston St which again is in the heart of the action.

Our room was on the 4th (top) floor but as there is only 30 rooms you never had to wait long for the lift.
Our room was also at the back which doesnt give you the views but I assume would be quieter than staying at the front.
The room was lovely and homely. Bed was comfy and the bathroom and shower worked ok.

They advertise tea and coffee 24 hours a day but we found that the coffee was there until it ran out which was usually early evening, so you have to make do with tea if you fancy a hot drink late at night.
Breakfast was a mix of hot and cold and was of a good quality, we were up every day to ensure we didnt miss out. One good thing is that because there is only 30 rooms, there wasn't the usual bun fight in the morning for a table etc.

The wifi was good and we didnt get any drop outs etc. You have to re-register every so often but that isn't a problem.
All in all I would definately recommend going to this Guest House if you need reasonably priced accomodation on a visit to Boston.
One tip, you can get the the shuttle to Logan Airport from outside the Hynes Convention centre on Boylston St for $7.50 or even $3 if you have a valid Charlie card. This is literally a 5min walk away from the guest house.

Date of stay: September 2018
8  Thank Pez1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews