We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat away from the hubub, but close...”
other travellers have booked this property
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room
Great Room
Walnut kitchen table with seating for eight
Kitchen
Kitchen
The loft with Queen and Full futon
The loft with Queen futon
Lots of books and games in loft
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bathroom upstairs
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The bathroom on the main level
Basement with leather love seat and sofa. 40 inch TV with 200 Dish channels and electronic keyboard
Ping Pong Table in basement
Fire pit and patio
Fire pit and patio
Rear deck and gas grill
View from front deck
View of the back side of the cabin
Front of cabin
Back of Cabin with grape vine
Side and Back of Cabin
Side of Cabin and Parking Area
View of back porch
Side view with driveway
Side view of cabin with parking
Front yard and front porch
Front yard in the Fall
Cornhole in the front yard
Looking off the front porch during a light snow
After a big snow
Front of the cabin after a big snow
Looking at the snow from the front porch.
Looking out the master bedroom window at a snowman built by a guest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chellefen...
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat away from the hubub, but close enough”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet retreat that is close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet, then this is the place for you! We visited with my sister and her husband, and my father and his friend, and my husband and my 10 year old, and there was plenty of space for everyone. My daughter loved the ping pong table and the extra TV will resolve any possible viewing conflicts. My neighbors dog is very friendly and will guard the house when you leave and return shortly after you return each day--much to my daughter's delight. There is an ample supply of cooking tools and dishes for prepping some meals in before a day of adventure, and the gas fireplace is fun for cozying up next to when the weather turns cold! I definitely recommend the use of a larger vehicle on the hill, and we were glad that we didn't choose to bring the Prius. If it were more snowy--we would have had a problem with the last stretch of driveway. The cabin is immaculate, the furniture is well-maintained and comfy, and the hosts are more than responsive to any inquiries or concerns. Thanks for a wonderful and restful stay at Tranquil Glen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space for the size of our group was perfect
Liked least: There is not a ton of sound proofing between floors and ceilings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
We agree with your description "quiet retreat that is close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet". Glad your family enjoyed the cabin! We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Lovely Home - Just a few issues”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in September 2014

First - This is a lovely home. It would be a great place to stay if you had a large group. I just wanted to be honest about a few things that were an issue to me, but they may not be an issue for others.

The owner was very accommodating, as we booked this kind of as a spur of the moment kind of thing. We were able to bring our dog which was a must for us when looking for a rental.

Everything inside was very well kept. It was clean and welcoming. The kitchen was well stocked with necessities and there were plenty of towels for the bathrooms.

We could not utilize any other floor besides the first floor. The stairs to the upstairs are a tad bit steep, and there is no tread. When we went upstairs to look around, our older dog followed us up, and he almost fell down the stairs trying to come back down, so we opted to use the main floor bedroom. The same thing happened with the basement stairs, so we did not use the downstairs either. You can get around to the basement from the outside if you choose.

It is about 30 minutes from Biltmore which is where we spent most of our time. It is an easy drive, however, when we returned to Asheville a second time, we chose to stay much closer.

The road into the home was a bit rough. The driveway is a little steep with loose rocks and the tires spun on our car a bit going up the hill. I don't think I would want to have to travel those roads in bad weather. If you have an SUV, you'd probably be fine though. The neighbors are close and you could hear the highway a little. The first night, I got no sleep due to the neighbor's dogs barking the entire night. There was also something on the porch rooting around which I may not have noticed had I been able to sleep.

All in all, it is a lovely home, and the owners are very accommodating and easy to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home is lovely and we were able to bring our dog.
Liked least: The neighbor's dogs barking, distance to Biltmore was a little far.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
We are glad you enjoyed you stay at the cabin! I put down one ton of crush and run in the driveway last week. I wish you would have called about the other problems that you were having, we may have been able to resolve some of them. We are always willing to try and help guest with issues they have. I keep my phone on 24/7.

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustOne99
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil pretty much nails it!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

First let me state that the owners, Dave and Linda, were very easy to work with and always quick to respond to my emails. My family and I were looking for a peaceful cabin setting to just enjoy an extended weekend of "down time" and relaxation .... we totally found exactly that in Tranquil Glen. The cabin was perfectly stocked with everything needed; very comfortable; and in a superb quiet location with a very easy drive into Asheville and hiking in Mount Marshall. My (2 yr old) grandson had plenty of room to run and play with his cousin --- Moses the labradoodle :)
We enjoyed ping pong tournaments in the basement and even set up an indoor cornhole tourney in the basement; and enjoyed s'mores by the firepit. This trip to Tranquil Glen was exactly what we had hoped it to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
It sounds like you embraced everything that we love about our cabin. We are glad to hear you and your family has a great vacation! We hope that you came back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy L
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memories in the making”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family loved staying here for a long weekend to attend a wedding in Asheville. It allowed us to be away from the hustle/bustle of the city while still being close enough to shop and enjoy the perks of the city.

Our family consisted of some older folk who don't navigate stairs well and a young couple with young children. The cabin allowed us the best situation for all that came. The downstairs King room was very comfortable and allowed us easy access to the porches and vehicles. The large master upstairs was PERFECT for our daughter and family who had their 1yr old and 3yr old with them. They were able to put a pack-n-play and a futon in the room for the kids and still had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the space.

The hill beside/behind the house became a family favorite. We had taken some ride-on toys for the 3yr old and these went down the hill with the greatest of speeds. It made for quite a silly memory watching the young adults careen down the hill on that toy motorcycle!

The friendly neighboring dog, Bandit, was also a hit with the family. He's a HUGE white dog that was truly a gently giant. He would take up residence on the back porch at night and made us feel truly protected.

We loved our stay and hope to make it back again in the years to come to make more wonderful memories.

The Livingston and Lee families

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Was a bit dusty
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
We are so glad that you were able to get out of the flooding in South Carolina and make it to Asheville for the wedding! I am sure there has been lots of stress in your lives in the past weeks, but it sounds like the family had a great time at the cabin! Bandit is our neighbors dog. He stops by to check on things, he is friendly to everyone and their dogs. We love to hear about stories like yours! Please come back to stay with us!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frazier_M...
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cozy cabin in the woods!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family truly enjoyed what we called the "cabin in the woods". The yard was nice and big for the dogs to run and play in. The house was very comfortable and quite charming. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and the large table was perfect for our group of six for both eating and game playing. The reclining couches were really wonderful, with the motorized leg lifts, we were spoiled. Sitting out on the porch once the sunshine came out was a big favorite for us all, it was really relaxing. The only downsides were the coffee maker really should be replaced, I had to clean it several times before use as it was a bit worn out, and Perhaps a new frying pan that doesn't stick so easily. Beware, the oven door gets very hot, we had a few burned fingers. We were pleasantly surprised by the "great white bear" that came to greet us. We met the neighbor's dog Bandit, what a beautiful giant gentle dog. He had breakfast with us daily, reminding us with a big paw to keep petting him. He was a such a happy treat to have around. Our dogs did not mind him at all. We enjoyed many of the local breweries in Asheville and the beautiful drive around the mountains and golf at the Omni Resort. We will certainly recommend your home to others, as well as keep it in mind for our future use as well. We really enjoyed the very cozy cabin in the woods!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The front porch was comfortable and relaxing. And of course Bandit!
Liked least: The coffeemaker was in bad shape, a new one is needed badly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the "Cabin in the woods!" We will look into the problems with the coffee maker and frying pan. We hope that you will come stay with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing