We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, comfortable, spacous, fantastic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Room #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Room #1
room #2 room #2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Room #1
room #2
room #2
Room #3
bathroom
bathroom
sunroom
sunroom
sunroom
kitchen
outside the house
outside the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terese P
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, comfortable, spacous, fantastic sunroom”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

3 private full size bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a futon in the sunroom. It is a very bright and cheery place, which you can't really see from the photos. The huge sunroom is delightful, especially since you can see the Asheville skyline when the trees are bare. You can see over houses, highway and trees. There is also a shared balcony off the sunroom. The house is up a two block long steep hill just past the highway. It was no problem for us to walk it, and downtown is right there! Not a 5 star hotel but clean enough, comfy and well equipped. Host family was very responsive since they live on the property. Can't beat this place for the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sunroom view, comfy beds, late checkout
Liked least: owner had loud (optional) maintenance work done downstatirs while we were there, The toilet needed cleaning when I arrived, I had to call to change the thermostat
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky037
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This 3 bedroom house/duplex is close to Hwy 240 at the north end of downtown Asheville with access to everything -- from downtown Asheville to a ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway to the Biltmore Estate. You can walk into the north end of the city center in 15 mins or drive in 5 mins. The Biltmore Estate is an easy 15 minute drive.

Everything is as advertised and the place is exceptionally clean, but you should note there is only one toilet and a shower, each in a separate room (for the two of us, not a problem). There is also no stove/oven, but there is a refrig, microwave, toaster oven and coffee pot. Paper towels and dish detergent are provided, as is shampoo and body wash. Each of the beds (we used the center room) are up against the wall in the rooms so you may have to climb over your partner in the middle of the night if your are over 55 (you know what I mean!). But the bed was comfortable as were the pillows and linens.

For those who work during their vacations, there is a desk in third bedroom that was comfortable for computer tasks, and the wifi was excellent. The back room---a sunroom---was enjoyable when the weather turned cool (although the lights in that room flickered incessantly at night), and there were basic cable stations available on the TV located there. The sunroom also had a large dining table with seating for 6. There is also a TV in another sitting area at the entrance along with a table for 4.

As others have mentioned, the thermostat is in the adjoining unit, which is a bit of hassle given the weather changes we experienced during our stay. The first night was stuffy and warm, so we asked them to turn it cooler---but the next night a front rolled in and we were cold. But, would rather be too cold and lay on the blankets than be too warm and uncomfortable.

We also had a problem in that we had only lukewarm water when we took our first shower. I called the owner and he remedied the problem right away. My guess is the heater had been turned off while there were no guests and someone just forgot to turn it on as we had plenty of hot water the rest of our stay.

In sum, the owner and his daughter are both very responsive both to emails in planning our trip and once we arrived. A bit of work on the finer issues mentioned above would have made this an excellent rating---but we would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quiet neighborhood
Liked least: Lack of control over thermostat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oncidium
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location in a beautiful place with lots of extras with friendly host”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The host made me feel extremely welcome and was very helpful. One of the best features is a very large sun room with balcony overlooking a gorgeous garden below. Lovely kitchen and bath. Beautiful furniture throughout. This location is excellent if one wants to spend time in downtown Asheville or the River Arts District. I want to return some day.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyree621
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect choice for a weekend getaway with friends”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling to Asheville for a holiday weekend provided little to no hotel availability so finding this gem of a place was an absolute miracle. The house provided enough space for a group of 4 to stay comfortably. The only drawback was that there was only one bathroom, but with a little advance planning it can prove to be a non-issue. The owner of the property was extremely pleasant and accommodating. He even brought a cake for my friends and I to enjoy. All the amenities needed for a comfortable stay were provided. Beds were extremely comfortable and the living room provided ample room to just lounge and enjoy a nice game of cards. The proximity to downtown was perfect. You could either walk, drive or get a cab to take you downtown and it took no time at all. No more than $6 for a cab ride. Just a note: If you plan to have something delivered be sure to give some extra details as to the location of the home. The house number is not easily visible and can cause a little frustration for delivery drivers that are not extremely familiar with that street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to downtown, the friendliness of the owner, comfortable atmosphere.
Liked least: Only one bathroom (only an issue due to the group size)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, superb customer service, clean comfortable house”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and our 2 teenagers rented this home in June. The owner was very responsive while I was making the reservation, asking some questions, and even modifying our reserved dates. Upon arrival the owner was there to let us in less than 5 minutes after arrival. The house was very clean, and the size was great for our family. The beds were really comfortable. We loved being within walking distance of the downtown area, and also a short drive to the places we wanted to go.
The only drawbacks I can think of for this property is that there is only one bathroom, but the shower area is sectioned off from the toilet and sink area, so for us- even a family of 4 we were able to make the 1 bathroom work no problem. For some people the decor in the home might not be aesthetically pleasing since its a bit dated, but that didn't bother me- its a rental, not my home. Also there is no stove/oven but we would not have used that even if there was one. It had a microwave and coffee maker which was all we needed.
I would rent this property again in a heartbeat. I thought it was a great value which is hard to find for a family of 4. And the customer service we received was outstanding, which makes a vacation turn out to be a joy instead of a headache, which is what you want when you spend a bunch of money on a vacation. Asheville is beautiful and a great place to visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location, and 3 bedrooms at a great price
Liked least: only one bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing