We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
66
31
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
31
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

We spent the last three days at the Assateague State Park campground, it is truly amazing. Nice bath houses/restrooms! Great sites amazing access to the beach, clean and a nice supply of wild ponies to take pictures of!
A true slice of heaven!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank leob276
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

Wow! If you are a camper initially you may be a bit shocked as you cannot go in expecting campsites shaded by trees etc. This is beach camping! All sites are steps from the beach. We stayed on the C loop great spot. Bath house is brand new, great showers and clean! Volunteers are all wonderful and friendly. We saw horses, dolphins, pelicans..just waiting to see a unicorn! Beautiful sunrise, go to sleep and wake up to hear the ocean waves. A truly amazing experience. Only suggestion if you need darkness to sleep to not pick a spot by the bathroom as the dim light is on all night as they are in all campgrounds, further away the darker it is. Would camp here again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BosJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

We camped Ocean Side, site 50. It was hot as Hades out when we got there, and there was zero shade. Once we got set up,we went right into the ocean which was about 50 yards from our campsite. The sites are very intermingled on the ocean side, but the bay side seemed like it had more private sites. There were horses everywhere, which we were hoping for.
The bathrooms are porta-potties and don't smell all the wonderful. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and we plan on returning again and again.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank jjmoller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Had a wonderful time last week camping here. Beach was excellent, saw lots of horses! Warren our camp Host was excellent, came over and introduced himself, talked for quite awhile to us about everything. Very nice gentleman. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early due to the loss of our tent and canopy from a storm, the wind actually lifted the canopy and moved it to across our site! But we were safe and that’s all that mattered. Many people came over and offered to help, which was wonderful. Already booked for next year and renting a camper. Unfortunately a different loop but hopeful to see Warren again there.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 775luannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2018

I went to Assateague State Park (MD) for a 4-night camping experience on June 20th with my husband and several close families. This was a wonderful experience for us. This would be a wonderful experience ONLY IF YOU ARE AN ALL-ROUNDER person who is not fussy and picky, just like us. This is a secured camp by the beach. It’s quiet and clean, except for the wild horses’ manure. (You need to remember that you would be in their habitat, not the other way around!). Each loop has clean bathhouses and restrooms which were updated last year and their maintenance is superb. Behind them there are trash containers and sinks to do the dishes and utensils. There are external showers as well. Each campsite has a fire rim/pit; however, not all of them have a grill. I suggest you bring your own.
I recommend coming June because the weather won’t be so hot (which translates into mosquitoes and flies) and there could be a nice breeze, sometimes a little chilly, and rain. I suggest you bring fresh clothing, a raincoat and a sweater for cold nights. Waterproof clothing is better. Since there are no trees to provide shade, I highly suggest you bring a canopy, preferably with all-covering mesh. We also brought a cart, which proved very helpful to transport all the beach gear (cooler, beach chairs, umbrella, rackets, etc.) and the dirty diches for cleaning.
Last, but not least, NEVER EVER LEAVE FOOD ON THE TABLES OR IN THE TENTS. The wild horses will simply come and eat it. We didn’t have any trouble because we always stored the food in the car. I recommend you bring three coolers, a big one for the ice (maximum refrigeration), a small one for the meats and the third for dairy products. This worked nicely for us.
Bonus tip: if you can, check-in on Thursday and check-out on Monday (as we did), otherwise you will be trapped in infernal traffic for many, many hours (which happened to one of my friends – 8 hours from Woodbridge, VA!). This is especially true for the campers coming from Virginia, DC and Maryland, since the Chesapeake Bridge collapses on the weekends.
When you reserve a camp site, read the MD park service email thoroughly. It has plenty of information and suggestions. We already reserved for 2019! Happy Camping!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank MGO0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews