We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,855)
Filter reviews
6,855 results
Traveller rating
3,148
2,543
784
220
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,148
2,543
784
220
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the view lounge m club the concierge lounge great location union square convention hotel moscone center top floor large hotel busy hotel corner room market street attending a conference business trip lobby bar bart station per day
Filter
Updating list...
3,919 - 3,924 of 6,855 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This is a rather expensive business hotel right in the heart of San Francisco...I stayed here during a conference last summer and have no major complaints...The conference rooms and the food etc. was quite acceptable...service was not too overwhelming...all in all good value for the extra money...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharpiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Dear sharpiyu,

Thank your so much for posting your review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. In a city like San Francisco we appreciate that the guest has many options to choose from for hotel accommodations and we review our rates ever day to ensure that they are competitively priced.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

It so happened that I stayed at this hotel just after staying the previous night at a nearby Hilton Union Square that I reviewed separately a couple of years ago (no changes this time). Compared to the Hilton, this Marriott has less of a huge bus station or an airport terminal feeling. It is an older property, but pretty well kept even though there are some signs of tear and wear here and there. The location is great. My room was fairly small with a view nothing to write home about. My colleague though for some reason got a 2-room suite that was very spacious. We booked it for an urgent business trip just a few days ahead of our stay so paid an arm in a leg but I suppose you could get better deals booking well in advance. Breakfast buffet was very good but very expensive - perhaps the reason why it was not crowded at all even in the morning rush hour. What I liked most about this hotel was actually it's fitness center, which looked more like a full size gym with plenty of treadmills and other equipment to choose from. It did get pretty crowded by 7 am though. The bottom line: a decent hotel in a very good location that I would recommend if you can get a good deal.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I attended an awards ceremony in the Golden Gate suites recently. The place was a typical set of suites in the lower floors of the hotel and nothing wrong with that.

The meal served was terrible. It ranks as one of the strangest and worst hotel meals I've ever had.
course one which was already on the table when we sat down was a plate of arugula with some cubes of beetroot and an unidentifiable second vegetable with some crumbled feta? and a vile dressing.

Course 2 looked promising as there appeared to be a choice between New York Sirloin and a fish broth. But no you got both on a rectangular plate with two slices of something that resembled cold shoe leather and a scoop of school dinner mash - ALL COLD - and inedible plus a square bowl with 2 large shrimp and some herb coated fish in a sort of broth.

Did the chef just clear out all the left overs from the fridges? Most people on my table left the whole thing.

Desserts had also been placed on the tables before we sat down and so we were left to grab on of two choices from somewhere in the middle of the table that had been sitting there for over an hour or more like 2. Add some terrible wine and there you have it.

I would add that we left and went to the bar in the hotel on the 39th floor which was busy and has a great view.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Dear georgegibbs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within the hotel.
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We had a great experience staying at the Marriott Marquis in SF. We had great customer service and the rooms were clean, well-lit, and comfortable! It convenient having large and open public areas for our group of ~100 people to congregate when arriving at and leaving the hotel. Good Wifi. Enjoyed the convenience of the Starbucks downstairs. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Griffeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We have been here before & rated it a little better before.
Just a few things were different this time.
It has a great location & is a very busy place. The lobby is like a bee hive!!
Staff is friendly & rooms are clean
.
Just a few things were different this time.
We requested an earlier check in as we had a business call.
Request was granted which was great ...BUT we were at the very end of several long hallways..loooong walk AND Internet connection was so slow.
Would return - but hope to get closer to elevator.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews