We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
28
96
176
74
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
96
176
74
102
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

we stayed here for 6 nights and really loved the place, yes the rooms are a bit small but the hotel in general make up for that, the staff are truely lovely , so helpful & friendly
the room was spotless , huge closet which was great, nicely decorated,
only downside was there was nor fridge or coffee machine in the room,, but when i asked for ice it was with me in less then 5 minutes, they have free tea & coffee in the lobby which was great, even though theres a lot of homeless in san fran and right accross the street not once whenever i popped out to smoke did anyone come over, the hotel staff are some of the best i have seen in many years
the hotel is central to everything, on the bus route, taxies are cheap to get back from downtown, i would stay here again and highly recommend it

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Deborah, it's really great to get such positive feedback from guests who have stayed us for a relatively long visit. We're really happy that we were able to be a comfortable and convenient base for you while you were visiting San Francisco, and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We do hope that you make a return visit to San Fransisco, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Was a great location and nice staff. Older hotel with an old and small elevator so I used the stairs. Clean and less expensive than other places nearby. Only problem was there was water under the tub so it was squishy to stand in the shower which was weird, but again it's an older hotel. Would stay here again.

Room tip: If you don't like elevators, get a room on a lower floor. It's a tiny & old elevator!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank livelovesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Sandi, we are so happy that you found us a convenient and affordable place to stay in San Francisco. We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your trip in San Francisco, and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Nice and clean, nothing fancy but good enough and the price is right.
Bathroom needs improvement, some issues with the bathroom sink clogging up.
Close to City Hall. Transportation is handy and there are bus stops across the street.
No problem finding restaurants around the hotel, front desk attendants are very helpful.
Free WiFi sure helps but top floors signal not as strong.

Room tip: Corner rooms with better view and more sunlight
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Anthony, we are really happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's great that you found our location so convenient, and that you found our front desk staff to be so helpful - we will be sure to pass your comments to them. We are sorry that you had an issue with your sink - it's a shame that you didn't mention it to us at the time - we would have attended to it immediately. We would love if you would come back to stay with us again - we would be very happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

It was a clean decent place. Close to everything in walking distance. Breakfast included and was good. Easy access in and out of the parking garage. Check in was fast. Staff was very friendly. I would come back and stay here the next time we come to SF.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Christine, we could not be happier that you were so impressed with our staff and our service - we'll be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We aim to make this impression on all of our guests, and usually we do. It's great that you liked our amenities and location, and we hope that you'll come back to experience them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I write this review while trying to go back to sleep after an hour of partying in the upstairs room. I called reception to have him call to ask them to be quiet. We have our 9 year old with us and the noise is out of control. He said he would call upstairs,, but he did not. I know this because you can hear everything from the above room and the sides. The cost for the room was $200, but I jumped on it without reading the reviews... My bad. If I had read the reviews I would have been prepared for the terrible neighborhood (plus construction a cross the street), poor front desk service (only one guy up there who definitely could use some help), terrible valet (we waited up front for what felt like forever), absolutely no amenities (no fridge, no conditioner), old and falling apart. Above all that it's the noise... Right now someone is taking a shower upstairs. It's 5:19am. Do yourself a favor and pay the extra $100 or two to get out of this place, especially if you have young kids with you. May be ok for college students who want to party and come home at 4am.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 531christinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews