We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, a little touristy”

Franciscan Crab Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Franciscan Crab Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #317 of 5,944 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Taylor
Transit: Muni: F-Line
Description: Named best food at the Wharf by Sunset Magazine. Enjoy breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge while feasting on fresh seafood & more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in for a drink before having dinner at another restaurant, and we were glad we did. We were seated quickly at the bar, with a booth overlooking the bay. The servers were incredibly fun and gracious and attentive. We didn't order food -- the menus are plastic with pictures, which seems more like a tourist trap than a local restaurant.

But the view is stunning -- I recommend at least stopping in for a drink and a nosh!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank planestrainsandaut2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie E, General Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the glowing rating!

We're delighted you had such a fantastic dining experience with us! It's great to know we left you with a wonderful impression and that you enjoyed our stunning views. We look forward to hosting you again and cooking you a delicious meal next time.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 2,214 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner there last night, it was very busy and felt like a fast food restaurant with the focus on flipping tables rather than a dining experience. The starters and mains arrived together and the food quality was average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie E, General Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback, John.

We're disheartened to hear about the challenges you faced during your time with us. We strive to offer our guests quality service and cuisine. It's unfortunate our service was not on par with the high standard we're accustomed to sharing. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team.

Please consider allowing us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we're capable of providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here a handful of times and the food has always been excellent. The wait staff is courteous and helpful. The views are phenomenal. A few of our favorites are the carpaccio, calamari appetizers, the steak is excellent and fish 4 ways have been great. Prices on the drinks are on the higher side.

Thank worldtraveler407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie E, General Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the wonderful review!

We're thrilled your time with us was so fantastic! We strive to offer top-notch service alongside our mouthwatering dishes and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing experience!

Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As I was walking around the Fisherman's Wharf, I looked at the options and this restaurant got me for the view.
You always pay for the view, but it's kind of the thing that I don't mind.
I could saw people at Alcatraz due to binoculars that they offer in the table and great pictures from the ocean too.
The food was very good and the service was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Artur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie E, General Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the glowing rating, Artur!

We're delighted you had such a fantastic dining experience with us! It's great to know we left you with a wonderful impression and that you enjoyed our stunning views. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is right on the water overlooking Alcatraz. They're known for their fried Dungeness crab which I've never had that way (fried) but it was excellent. Mussels, shrimp...put the diet aside and enjoy this Pacific feast.

Thank Mr_Review00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie E, General Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent review, Mr_Review00!

We're delighted to hear that you had such an amazing dining experience with us! It's wonderful that our team provided you with excellent service and that your meal was flavorful and delicious! We'd love to host you again soon for more mouthwatering cuisine!

Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franciscan Crab Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Franciscan Crab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing