We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food in the Center of SF”
Review of Scala's Bistro

Scala's Bistro
Ranked #256 of 5,798 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cross street: Post and Sutter
Transit: Powell St. Cable Car Line, BART get off at Powell Street and walk up 4 blocks, we are on the right hand side next to the Sir Drake Hotel.
Description: Scala's Bistro is located centrally in Union Square in San Francisco and features hand crafted cocktails and Italian inspired fare.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Very nice interior with food to match. Location is great and within walking distance of many landmarks. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Jacobispas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2020

We returned to Scala's Bistro to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our last visit had been several years ago as we live in the UK. The experience began well, frioendly reception and the welcome from the waitress. The starters were OK but I was still eating mine when our main course was plonked (no other word for it) on the table. The mains, we had chosen their fish of the day a Dorade, was deep fried, greasy and hugely disappointing. We shared a desert, during which time the bill was delivered to our table. No aplomb, no subtlety. There were very few customers at the time, (it was 6.00pm) so no-one was waiting for our table. We were well dressed and polite, so not an embarrassment (!) but we felt as though we were being rushed out. With our 50CL of house wine and a single cocktail, and a shared desert, the bill came to over $200, which we felt was an insult. Of course we should have complained but instead we politely tipped the waitress and left. The next evening we tried Lori's Diner, which is close by. Funky, good honest food, friendly staff and a bill of $60. We really wished we had celebrated there as we were both cross and disappointed that such a special evening had been ruined.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AndreaStandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScalasBistroMGR, General Manager at Scala's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Uh-oh – it sounds like you didn’t see the value in your meal at Scala's. Our chef is a fanatic about buying local, super-fresh ingredients from trusted farmers, which can make dishes on the menu feel a bit on the pricey side. Please reach out to us on your next visit. I'd like to personally ensure that you have a 5 star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Came here as part of a business dinner group outing. Got a variety of appetizers, entrees and we all shared. Great stuff!

Highly recommend the calamari!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GL726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScalasBistroMGR, General Manager at Scala's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Thanks for the stars! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

We have walked by this place hundreds of times, and we never gave it a second thought. We gave it a try, and we were not disappointed. I had the little gem salad. It was huge and had an amazing dressing. I also had the duck and it was amazing, as well. The mixed rice and quinoa was great under the duck. My wife’s goat cheese salad was also very tasty and was a meal in itself. The hostess and waiters for all super friendly and informative. The prices were fairly reasonable for Union Square. We will be back.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank travelguy21776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScalasBistroMGR, General Manager at Scala's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Thanks so much for your kind remarks – they’ll be shared with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Had a great experience at Scala's Bistro from start to visit. The hostess and our waiter were top notch and the wine, pizza and our two entrees were excellent. Loved this place & hope to visit again when in the area.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LD10990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScalasBistroMGR, General Manager at Scala's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

We’re thrilled you chose Scala's and had a great time. Sending happy, shiny thoughts right back at you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scala's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Scala's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.