We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Hotels.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Trip.com
US$140
View deal
FindHotelUS$169
CheapTicketsUS$169
TravelocityUS$169
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveller rating
138
544
419
96
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
544
419
96
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square great location central location lobby sf bart trolley pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a week this month, The Grant Hotel is a very basic hotel but it has everything you need and it's very clean. When we checked in the guy at the reception straight away gave me a hairdryer,something I hadn't even thought of myself to bring. The location is excellent for everybody, close to all the attractions. My only negative is when we checked in the price went up by one hundred dollars compared to what we had expected (apparently due to different taxes not included)

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claire27_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2019

This is a budget hotel. Very good location. There are better hotels in SF, and they come at higher prices. It's definitely more than a backpackers haven. Staff was helpful. I was very pleased with my stay. I got it through hotwire.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

At first I was skeptical, as looks a bit shabby from the outside, and lobby very plain. However, I found this hotel very adequate. Clean room and bathroom. Good shower. Bed was very comfortable. Ceiling fan was nice. Price and location were excellent. Security seemed good, and I never felt any problem. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 573davidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2018

Location was really good (very close to Union Sq and cable car passed close by), room and bathroom were comfortable (but fairly basic), staff were helpful, room was clean. Parking almost opposite. Wifi good. Great diners and restaurants nearby including Lori's.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2018

Hotel prices is SanFo is staggering and Grant is no exemption. However, I agree to the other review that what you pay is what you get co'z this hotel will not qualify as a hotel but an appartel or may be a backpackers haven. The elevator is always failing and the staff are not well-trained. Rooms are also outdated and seldom you can see staff smile and greet you.

Room tip: Rooms in the lower floors are better in case the elevator fails
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reynaldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews