We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$366
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Handlery Union Square Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$407
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$347
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$220
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beck's Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$257
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$197
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$565
US$482
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
212
347
174
41
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
347
174
41
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaregreat locationlori's dinerrooms are smallsutter streetfire escapequaint hotelan older hotelsmaller sidecable cartea and coffeewithin walking distancestreet noisecomfortable bedcomfortable stayshort staywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable but a little small, especially the bathroom. Coffee and tea provided downstairs in the common area in the morning. Staff pretty knowledgeable about restaurants in the area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Hotel lobby welcoming they had an open fireplace when we arrived at 11pm lots of seating downstairs.
Room decor modern and homely.

It’s about a 30min walk to fisherman’s wharf. And a block away from union square. Cable car is only one min walk down street

Just a few cons:
-there is no safe or mini fridge in the room
-house keeping starts coming around at 8 in the morning you can hear them knocking on doors when your trying to sleep.
-the bathroom is quite small. we had to step out of the bathroom to dry ourselves as the toilet is right next to the shower.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank brittsandpieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the location the hotel is worth it. Recently bought by Best Western and renovated. Staff was great and rooms were clean. Keep in mind this is San Francisco so rooms are small but they are new and have everything you need. Will definitely stay here next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mml487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have always wanted to go to San Francisco. I took my daughter during spring break. We stayed for 3 of our 7 nights at the Grant Plaza Hotel. The rooms are little small but they're Cozy and have a boutique feel. The staff are Pleasant
This hotel is well-kept and has a old-time feel to it that is inviting and comfortable. Anytime I go back to San Francisco I will definitely be staying here again. The hotel sits just inside the gate to Chinatown so it is convenient and close to the cable cars. There are a few restaurants across the street and close by if you get hungry and don't want to travel far. I felt safe being there just with my daughter and myself.
Thank You to Staff at The Grant0k Plaza Hotel for making our stay in San Francisco and enjoyable and relaxing.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank harmonyrainsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

After a very mediocre experience at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel down the street, we were delighted by the great service at the Cartwright Hotel! The rooms creatively make the most of the limited space with contemporary design, great layout and a boutique feel. A very relaxing place to spend four nights in San Francisco.

You can’t ask for a better location, near Union Square and the Cable Cars on Powell Street .

Highly recommend the Cartwright!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank YukonHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews