We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
239
382
191
44
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
382
191
44
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square great location rooms are small lori's diner sutter street fire escape an older hotel quaint hotel smaller side cable car tea and coffee comfortable bed street noise comfortable stay around the corner would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable but a little small, especially the bathroom. Coffee and tea provided downstairs in the common area in the morning. Staff pretty knowledgeable about restaurants in the area.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkM10127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Hotel lobby welcoming they had an open fireplace when we arrived at 11pm lots of seating downstairs.
Room decor modern and homely.

It’s about a 30min walk to fisherman’s wharf. And a block away from union square. Cable car is only one min walk down street

Just a few cons:
-there is no safe or mini fridge in the room
-house keeping starts coming around at 8 in the morning you can hear them knocking on doors when your trying to sleep.
-the bathroom is quite small. we had to step out of the bathroom to dry ourselves as the toilet is right next to the shower.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank brittsandpieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

For the location the hotel is worth it. Recently bought by Best Western and renovated. Staff was great and rooms were clean. Keep in mind this is San Francisco so rooms are small but they are new and have everything you need. Will definitely stay here next time we are in the city.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mml487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I have always wanted to go to San Francisco. I took my daughter during spring break. We stayed for 3 of our 7 nights at the Grant Plaza Hotel. The rooms are little small but they're Cozy and have a boutique feel. The staff are Pleasant
This hotel is well-kept and has a old-time feel to it that is inviting and comfortable. Anytime I go back to San Francisco I will definitely be staying here again. The hotel sits just inside the gate to Chinatown so it is convenient and close to the cable cars. There are a few restaurants across the street and close by if you get hungry and don't want to travel far. I felt safe being there just with my daughter and myself.
Thank You to Staff at The Grant0k Plaza Hotel for making our stay in San Francisco and enjoyable and relaxing.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank harmonyrainsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

After a very mediocre experience at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel down the street, we were delighted by the great service at the Cartwright Hotel! The rooms creatively make the most of the limited space with contemporary design, great layout and a boutique feel. A very relaxing place to spend four nights in San Francisco.

You can’t ask for a better location, near Union Square and the Cable Cars on Powell Street .

Highly recommend the Cartwright!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank YukonHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews