We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend the day”
Review of Pier 39

Pier 39
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
PIER 39 Attraction Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From amazing views and a sea of sea lions to chowder bread bowls and California wines, your visit to San Francisco starts at PIER 39. Kick off your visit by exploring two levels of dining, entertainment, shopping and attractions, all surrounded by unbeatable views of the city and the bay. Take it from the world famous sea lions: a visit to San Francisco starts at The PIER.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I really like this Pier. There are many shops. a Lefty store which is for left handed people. something you don't see anywhere and many eating options. If you can afford and can get in to the Fog Harbor Fish House. I highly recommend it for a nice dinner with a stunning view of the Harbor. Great drink specials and the staff was was awesome.

Thank pet629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to PIER 39! Dining at Fog Harbor Fish House is always a treat, and we're glad you had fun shopping as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon for more fun by the bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lions"
in 3,965 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 489 reviews
"street performers"
in 339 reviews
"seafood"
in 352 reviews
"tourist spot"
in 115 reviews
"clam chowder"
in 216 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 157 reviews
"walk around"
in 160 reviews
"alcatraz island"
in 132 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 282 reviews
"carousel"
in 406 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 595 reviews
"tourists"
in 809 reviews
"bay"
in 870 reviews
"aquarium"
in 515 reviews
"pontoon"
in 115 reviews
"sf"
in 655 reviews
Filter

585 - 589 of 18,263 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The must see beside the fisherman’s wharf is this part of the San Francisco piers with shops and restaurants, a great view as well as with sunbathing sea lions.

Thank Joergstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you had fun with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The Americans have a strange way of being able to do Kitsch without even thinking. Loved Pier 39 with the sea lions, the restaurants and the tacky little gift shops. Great western outfitters there - where we bought a couple of Stetsons.

Thank MartinGavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We visited Pier 39 in the winter and it was still happening spot in San Fran! It reminded me of Times Square in Manhattan. We enjoyed strolling along the pier and visiting the different restaurants. We watched the sea lions and even joined a cruise which departed from this pier. Its a main spot... don't skip a visit to the Pier if you're planning to visit San Fran!

Thank RaiRaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your winter visit to PIER 39! A day of sea lions and dining on the waterfront is always a fun one. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Very interesting place and good views. Be sure to come in the morning for the best views of Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. Also make sure to see the sea lions.

Thank ryanschock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

It is great to hear that you had a chance to see the beautiful bay views and sea lions at PIER 39! Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing