We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geared more for little kids”
Review of Exploratorium

Exploratorium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.95*
and up
Skip the Line: Exploratorium General Admission
Ranked #13 of 705 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the Exploratorium, a hands-on museum of science, art, and human perception that's dedicated to the excitement of experimentation, the pleasure of discovery, and the power of play. Indulge your curiosity in over 650 exhibits-indoors and out-and explore eye-opening ways to understand the world around you. Don't miss the iconic Tactile Dome, where you can take an interactive excursion in total darkness using your sense of touch as your only guide (be sure to make a reservation in advance). There's also a unique museum store plus two delicious places to eat: the SeaGlass restaurant, which has a stunning Bay view, and the Seismic Joint Cafe. Located at Pier 15 along San Francisco's Embarcadero between Pier 39 and the Ferry Building, the Exploratorium is easy to get to by public transportation (BART or MUNI) plus there's parking nearby. Tickets are available online (recommended) or at the door.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 15 August 2018

More suited for that edu-hands-on family (young children) experience. Bring the hand sanitizer! Educational.

Thank manderoortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploSF, Manager at Exploratorium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all ages"
in 342 reviews
"science museum"
in 152 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 83 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 57 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 93 reviews
"great hands"
in 27 reviews
"great for kids"
in 63 reviews
"any age"
in 38 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 41 reviews
"year olds"
in 34 reviews
"whole family"
in 47 reviews
"four hours"
in 26 reviews
"palace of fine arts"
in 49 reviews
"great museum"
in 30 reviews
"rainy day"
in 30 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 48 reviews
"ferry building"
in 34 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

We took our 7 and 11 year old grandsons to Exploratorium. There were so many exhibits that even with the large crowd we were able to participate in one of them. We spent the entire day and still didn’t get through the entire building. It was fun and educational.

1  Thank dlrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploSF, Manager at Exploratorium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We are members. We took our grandsons, 11 and 13. So much to see as always and lots of new fascinating exhibits since last visit. I agree with other visitors that some sound baffles and more seats would raise the enjoyment level. However the restaurant was not good. 4 dry barely edible hot dogs, 2 French fries, a couple of sodas, 2 cookies and a small square of honeycomb came to $77! Ouch! Won’t be doing that again! So, science great, the rest disappointing.

Thank JG694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploSF, Manager at Exploratorium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. We sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with your food and beverage experience. We will share this feedback with our food and beverage partner. If you would like to speak with a Food & Beverage manager, please email member@exploratorium.edu, and they will connect you with that team.

Thank you for your support as a member!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

I wasn't really sure what this was or how large it was to get thru it all. We didn't allow nearly enough time to get thru it all...and I wish we would have packed snacks & more drinks! Be prepared to be there for several hours - at least 4 I would say & bring snacks & drinks to take breaks. It was busy so kids had to wait in a 1-2 person line for a lot but was still super fun & interesting. My husband & I played a lot too. Worth the money for young kids. My kids were 9 & 12 - perfect ages as they had the patience to wait & a bigger interest in most of it. Little ones wouldn't be able to participate in some of it just b'c they wouldn't have the ability or coordination or patience.

2  Thank franklinstower98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploSF, Manager at Exploratorium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Love coming here each year we visit San Francisco.

Many interactive exhibits that are fun for everyone in the family.

Thank fl0uny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploSF, Manager at Exploratorium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exploratorium also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Exploratorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing