We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and Close to Town”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of HIghbrook which rests on 1/2 acre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of HIghbrook which rests on 1/2 acre
Long view of HIghbrook Very front view of Highbrook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Front view of HIghbrook which rests on 1/2 acre
Long view of HIghbrook
Very front view of Highbrook
Carport and lots of parking
Side view of back of house
Very back of home and another place for children to play
View to the residential street - only locals use
Plenty of parking
Our rooftop is in the middle very close to the water and downtown bar harbor
Comfortable living room
New kitchen with Granite counter tops
Stainless steel appliances
Master suite with comfortable sitting area, TV
Read a book, look at nature, relax!!
Master Suite Bathroom
Double Sinks with wall to wall mirror
Second Master Bedroom
Sitting Area
Sitting area with lots of windows and light for this second master bedroom
Good sized twin bedroom with 3 large windows and sunshine!
Pull out sofa located in the back bedroom
Sand Beach is only 5 minutes from Highbrook
Continue on Ocean Drive to Access the Bowls
Continue again to Jordon Pond House for their famous Popsovers surrounded by 5 mountain ranges
Continue again to acess the Hemlock Trail down Dorr mountain heading to Bar Harbor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert V
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Comfortable and Close to Town”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My family has always wanted to come to Bar Harbor and we were looking for a rental property close to town and someplace quiet. We found this great property one block up from Rt. 3 and about a 30 second ride into the town of Bar Harbor and its shops and restaurants. The home had a large driveway, small patio by the front door and a freshly painted large deck in the back. Three of the bedrooms were very large and comfortable with one bedroom having it's own master bathroom. Well appointed galley kitchen if you wanted to cook (which we didn't use that much) and a nice living room and dining room to sit and talk although we spent most of our time in Acadia Park. The owner was very responsive and available to us and gave us great hints on local places to see and eat. We'd definitely would come back here. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the home in relation to town.
Liked least: The 35
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula K
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable with all of the amentities we needed”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was on assignment for jackson lab for a few months and we selected this home as it stated it was close to everything and it was!. We were able to walk to downtown, but it was such a large yard area that was secluded and on a very residential neighborhood that our kids could play outside and we didn't have any worries...

The home was very comfortable and had everything we needed from the kitchen to the bathrooms espeically since we were there for an extended visit. There are 2 master bedrooms, that were huge and both had sitting areas which we enjoyed just relaxing in chairs reading or watching TV...

If we come back to the lab again, we will stay here again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for selecting Highbrook House and we are glad we enjoyed your visit. We work on our home every year and we also listen to input from our tenants. This year we put in 2 new mattress's, 3 new picture windows, new living room furniture and hardwood flooring.. We are also residing our home.. We value all of our tenants and try to do the best we can with making our home, their home. Thank you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
Thank you.... you have been a great tenant for many years!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing