We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
437
420
180
96
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
420
180
96
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maui dreams come true putting green grocery store sea wall ocean front living room shuffle board sandy beach farmers market beautiful grounds tennis courts pools and hot tubs c unit washer and dryer full kitchen koi pond first morning
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

The grounds where beautiful and our room was ok. The only real complaint I have is the limited access to a nice beach. For the price I wish we would of booked the Westin and the kids would of had more fun. This place mostly filled with older retirees and not many young families.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We have stayed at this property 4 times in 7 years and unfortunately this is the end of giving this place chances. Two of the 4 times they were over booked. So be aware that there is a 50/50 chance you may not get the room you paid for! The first time this place was overbooked we were sent to the property next door where our room overlooked the loud and clanging restaurant. It was aweful having the windows open because you cannot hear the ocean. All you can hear is people talking, the clanging of dishes and silverware. In addition to that the pool is very loud and busy. There are children screaming in the pool all day long. They start setting up the resturant at 5AM so guess what time we had to be up everyday? The room was also much smaller than
Papakea.
This time around 2/2016 we booked a 1bd 1ba Oceanfront room. After a 16 hour trip to get there we were told at the front desk that the room we paid for and reserved was unavailable due to overbooking. (Again!) We were offered another choice in the back of the property and a food voucher for the restaurant next door. We were told it was only for one night and we could move rooms the next day. Ok, no problem. The next morning there was construction going on. Jack hammers, trucks and machinery was what we heard. As we walked the property, the smell of raw sewage permeated the air. I can only assume the construction workers hit a sewage line. The smell was unbearable! We hung out at the property next door to try and get away from the smell. By the afternoon the smell was better so we returned and were so happy to have a message from the corporate office that our oceanfront room was ready and to pick up the key at the front desk. When we got to the front desk there was no room key for us and no explanation as to why. The front desk staff referred us to call a 1800 number. When we called we were told the owners son was staying there and refusing to vacate the room we reserved and paid for!
This has happened too many times, it's too stressful and too expensive to risk staying at a property where they gladly take your money and don't give you what you paid for. In addition to that nobody at the property seems to care. They act like this happens all the time. This company (Aston)has ruined our vacations twice now and doesn't stand by their commitments. Never again!

Room tip: Don't Stay Here!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
14  Thank hellothere111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This oceanfront 2 bedroom condo was beautiful and fully equipped with everything we needed. We could cook in, BBQ by the pool or go out. The view from our Lani was palm trees and the ocean, pool, ponds, and putting green. Absolutely breathtaking! The only real complaint I have is there is no beach access except for the resort next door. It is very close to anything we wanted to do! Great location !

Room tip: Corner Suits, ocean view have great views.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We booked this resort at the last minute through Priceline...we were happy just to find anything.
The resort is well kept... and family friendly... as long as you don't want a beach on the property.
It is an older property and our unit showed a bit of age... but the owners were at least trying to keep it maintained.
There is a grocery store and an ABC store a very short walk away.
The staff was very helpful with a late check-in and very accommodating.
Two pools on the property... one heated.
We thought it was pretty good value ... at a Priceline rate and would stay there again if we didn't want a beach close.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LeroyP248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

This oceanfront condo has everything, and more, than the photos and VRBO information indicate. From the moment we walked in and saw the ocean, about 35 feet from the lanai, we knew we had made a good decision. The view is spectacular and the items provided to welcome us were very special. We made great use of the lanai for our whale watching. We also enjoyed the surfers, paddle boarders, and the occasional war canoe or sail boat. All of the amenities provided by the owners really made our stay special. We took good advantage of the beach chairs and grocery bags. The owner also provides boogie boards, play toys for tots, swim noodles, a cooler, binoculars etc. The high chairs and table on the lanai were wonderful. All of the appointments (linens, towels, dishes and appliances, and furnishings) were first class. In talking with other renters, who were not terribly satisfied with the condition of their unit, we could appreciate all of the improvements that the owners have made over time and the pride they take in their unit.

As mentioned by other reviewers, Papakea Resort is right across the street from a grocery store and a couple of casual restaurants are within walking distance. It is also a short drive to other restaurants and beaches as well as the town of Lahaina. The property is beautifully maintained and quiet. We made good use of the high quality Weber grills along side the pool. The owners, Dennis and Carol, were a pleasure to deal with and very invested in making our stay as pleasurable as possible . We look forward to returning. Aloha

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank GlennR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews