We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
522
44
26
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
44
26
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pacific dream photography cane canoe four seasons canoe restaurant bedroom residence premier ocean view the ritz carlton half bath three bedroom full kitchen infinity pool coastal trail pool staff moment you arrive in room dining personal concierge huge lanai
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We arrived at the Montage in mid-afternoon and were warmly greeted by the bellmen who assured that we need not carry anything and all would be brought to our room. As we walked down the entrance to the hotel, we caught our breath at the beautiful view that lay ahead overlooking the tranquility pool which cascaded down to other pools and then to a magnificent greener than green lawn. All of that somewhat prepared you for the sweeping ocean view that lay beyond that. Good thing we were handed welcome drinks by the manager as that helped wake us from the mesmerizing view.

Perfectly situated on the coastline, the Montage is a series of buildings with luxury suites/condos curving around this fantastic precipice. Our suite was recently refreshed, very comfortable, spacious and had a generous lanai with plenty of lounge ability! While we reserved a 2 bedroom/2 bath, we were actually placed in a 3 bedroom/3.5 bath with one of the bed/bath combos being locked. Both of our bedrooms had ocean views and ensuite baths - perfect accommodations for families. Additionally, a full kitchen stocked with utensils, pots, dishes etc. and high end applianced (Wolf/SubZero) was there for our use if we desired (the only thing we desired was to make coffee - heck - this was vacation!).

The resort has a large spa/fitness facility. While the fitness center is available for guest use and it is well appointed, classes are an additional fee. My husband had a massage but was underwhelmed given the price.

The service and staff were terrific - always welcoming, helpful and gracious.

A couple of notes:
Very family oriented - especially at Spring Break - lots of young children, group gatherings and nannies make for a competitive lounge chair exercise and a noisy poolside. There is a small pool located at the Beach Cafe which would be ideal for families with teens or couples, however, the Kids Club also uses it at what seems like the most inopportune times - this would be an easy fix if the the Kids Club was not permitted to use that pool.

Should we return to Kapalua Bay, we will certainly stay at this lovely retreat.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MaryKay519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Aloha MaryKay,
Thank you for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay for your spring break family vacation. We truly appreciate your generous comments and feedback for improvements. As the experiences of our guests are our top priority, we are delighted to know you’ve created unforgettable memories at our resort. Again, mahalo for your review and we look forward to being a part of your next family holiday.
From all of us at Montage Kapalua Bay, warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Fantastic Hotel!! Stayed here with family for 12 nights and everyone had a wonderful time!! The staff spoil you and everyone knows your name before you arrive. It's quite impressive!!

The grounds are gorgeous!! Maui has become quite busy and you will NOT get that crowded feeling at the Montage. It's really one of only a few resorts on Maui that is not crowded. Plenty of pool chairs for everyone (which is greatly appreciated as seeing people get up early to save chairs at other resorts is just silly)!! Also, love the fun snacks they pass out poolside!! Nice touch Montage!! Beach is great for snorkeling and swimming!! Very safe beach for kids!!

The rooms are very nice, plenty of space for families!!

Oh and don't forget to check out the spa & gym!! AMAZING!! They also have a delicious juice bar located at the spa. It closes early but we loved grabbing a fresh pressed juice or smoothie each morning!! Great way to start the day!!

Highly Recommended!!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank heart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Aloha,
Thank you for your high marks and recommendation. We hope TripAdvisor readers will find your review most helpful as many of the amenities you mentioned are a pleasant added value. Mahalo for your review and for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for the holidays. Until then, malama pono (take care),
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We loved our recent stay at the Montage Kapalua Bay. The property itself is gorgeous, with lovely, lush floral landscaping, plush green lawns and spectacular ocean vistas. During our stay in March, we were amazed to see whales swimming offshore from the hotel grounds and from our balcony. Even with our late evening arrival, we were warmly greeted with leis, refreshing pineapple and bottled water (we declined champagne). We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was spacious, well-maintained and tastefully decorated in cream and neutral tones. Each bedroom had a king bed (extremely comfortable mattress), a large, marble, en suite bathroom, with a separate toilet, spacious shower, soak tub and double sinks; there was a half bath off the suite's entrance hall. The granite-countered kitchen was spotless, with sparkling appliances. The "key" was the washer and dryer (detergent provided), because we were in-and-out of our bathing suits and exercise clothing the entire week. Both of our teens spent significant down time reading and napping on the spacious and substantial lanai, with its beautiful ocean and sunset view. On the whole, we were extremely pleased with the entire staff, who are friendly, courteous and eager to assist. We were delighted, for example, that housekeeping left our leis in heart shapes and neatly tied our numerous power cords with bright purple ribbons daily. Pool, bell and valet staff remembered our names during our stay, and the food poolside was excellent; we recommend the fish tacos. Our rental car was always ready promptly upon request. The fitness center is spotless, with excellent cardio equipment, and the locker rooms were luxurious and stocked with all of the necessities, including deodorant, razors, hairbrushes. The beach crew is excellent and hardworking (Brandon gets a shout out") -- our daughter loved her stand-up paddle board lesson, and we took a private kayaking excursion with Kyle, who was a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The concierges were all excellent; many thanks to Jeramia and Janet for their time, personal attention and spot-on recommendations. Montage managers David and Brandt are excellent and extremely responsive as well. Some minor caveats: the WiFi poolside was finicky, though fine inside. Since since our stay was during peak-occupancy Easter week, competition for lounge chairs and umbrellas by the pool was fierce (advice: get out there before 10 AM to secure a spot; pool attendants will "hold" the chairs for two hours only; and the lower pool -- where families with younger children and babies congregated -- was fully occupied earliest). The beach is beautiful, but small, particularly at high tide. However, there is wonderful sea life, including turtles, in the waters off the beach, so be sure to rent or bring snorkeling equipment. Bottom line: particularly if you're from the U.S. East Coast or another distant location, and wondering whether the long flight and a stay at Montage Kapalua Bay are "worth" the jet lag (not a bad adjustment, by the way) and expense, the answer is a hearty "absolutely." It's an unforgettable experience. Mahalo!!!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NYCTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your astonishing experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations, facilities and services. We will be sure to share your generous comments to our associates. Mahalo for your feedback and we hope to welcome you all back to Maui soon.
Warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

The restaurant and view are spectacular. We come bxck every year and Merrimans was our old favorite dinner treat spot but this has it beat. The Service was best we have had at Mauii. Drew is a key part of that and his attention to detail as well as the rest of the team showed Ritz Carlton class. Will be top spot in Mauii in no time for sure!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Aloha Kenneth,
Mahalo for choosing Cane & Canoe for dinner. We truly appreciate your review. We definitely agree - sunsets on the west side of Maui is spectacular and we hope to provide you and your family with another exceptional dinner experience.
Mahalo,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The Montage is second to none. If you want to stay at the most beautiful resort-this is it. If you want the best customer service bar none-this is it. If you want all of the amenities at a luxury resort, but with a small hotel feel, this. is. IT! From the views to the considerations on the menu and staff, we were not disappointed. I went to the spa and fitness center almost daily-loved the classes and the spa treatments. Our three daughters fell in love too-with the paddle boarding on the ocean to the swimming through the waterfalls at the pool and to paintbox-their kids club- our kids were always welcomed and they even asked for more days at kids club! Lastly, I loved that this resort stays true to its surroundings and is respectful to its Hawaiian culture which also made this not just another hotel-but a full experience. Such a pleasure. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccarthygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your amazing family experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad your children left wanting more time at Paintbox. We hope to welcome you back again for another family getaway, your home away from home.
Warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews