We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Nearby Hotels
US$770
US$731
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$502
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$479
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$558
US$518
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$559
US$525
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,489)
Filter reviews
5,489 results
Traveller rating
2,327
1,678
811
431
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,678
811
431
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolblack swanocean viewself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishan umbrellaabc storekaanapali beachfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 5,489 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last week, excellent location, pools, and outstanding hospitality.

We arrived at Westin Maui late afternoon, utilized valet parking and checked in within minutes. No wait and an extremely friendly check-in rep. Very familiar with Platinum Elite amenities, etc., gave us a quick run down of the benefits/services we should utilize during our stay. Following that friendly face, everyone we encountered was just nice.

We rented cabanas on days we were at the resort without any off-site activities and those worked out just great. Great view, service (water and pineapple included), bar near by and lunch menu offered (food brought to the cabana). Truly a lazy day by the pool/waterfall, yet overlooking the beautiful ocean.

Rooms were spacious, clean, adequate, housekeeping staff was amazing, asked us many times if we needed anything etc. since we only availed of service every other day. Onsite Starbucks opens at 5am - yet to find another resort where their coffee shop opens this early, happy hour (HH) 7-9pm at the bars is great for those who want to enjoy a few late evening drinks by the pool.

Some other tips/observations:
1. In Maui/Hawaii, everything is expensive. So a $16 Mai-tai is not a surprise at the resort. We availed of the HH for these expensive drinks, did wine and beer during the day. It worked for us as neither my wife or I like too many sweet drinks in a row.
2. Food at the cabana - was limited, if one doesn't mind going down to the Relish Bar and ordering food -there are more choices there.
3. Breakfast is good but not everyone can avail of all the options provided and may find it expensive at $30/pp - however, considering that they have fish, salad, dimsums, soups and cheeses along with the standard breakfast fare is very nice. It was our biggest meal of the day.
4. Restaurant is expensive (then again we are talking Maui) but the food was very good. We had the tuna tostadas, a couple of salads, the bisque and prawns - all very good and nicely done with good presentation. Was happy to spend the money since the quality and quantity were good. Better than some of the restaurants at the Whaler's Village.
5. Food Trucks - not really at the Westin (sorry to include in this review), however, it is worth a honorable mention, as it was a great option that we discovered during our trips - road to Hana and exploring the island on our own. Don't be afraid to try the food trucks. Mostly run by locals, and families and are quite good.
6. Plan for extra time to retrieve your car as valets tend to back up - plan at least 15 mins for pick up at the hotel.
7. We didn't experience any issues with securing towels or chairs - perhaps because of the week we choose to stay - though a lot of kids and families were there - we seemed to luck out.
8. Rooms could perhaps be updated a bit more with newer doors, etc. However we literally were in our rooms to sleep, enjoy the balcony for a morning coffee or evening wine and to sleep. It didn't matter. The grounds, restaurants, the resort beach, etc. made up for the room - for us.
9. We used the gym and spa services - very well maintained. Clean and well-kept even at the end of the day. Again, amazing hospitality by spa staff.

All in all - great stay and a vacation for us. We are definitely coming back.
A shout out to Kevin H (Hospitality), Caroline (front desk), Westin Spa staff, Andre and Duke - for their amazing hospitality during our stay. Keep it UP!!

Room Tip: Book Cabana 9.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located in heart of the west side of Maui. Close to shopping, eating establishments, and nightlife. Setting right on the beach... it does not get better than this. The staff is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. There restaurants are really good as well.
This is a great choice your island vacation!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is clean, a little dated, but great service and friendly people. The price you pay to stay here is another thing! There are many other choices at much lower costs than here, I think the main thing that bugs me, well, there are two...one is the "Resort Fee" ...Really? Another way Corporate came up with to get more $$ from the consumer! They do this ONLY to show lower pricing when you are trying to book hotels through internet sites! Most people get excited when they see a price and just go for it not really paying attention to the "Fine Print". The other thing they do wrong, again, corporate greed...is they now charge you $30.00 to park your car each night you stay. And yes....Valet ONLY! Now you have to stand in line to TURN IN your paper to get your car (we stood for 15 min) THEN you have to stand and WAIT for them to bring you your car! (10 - 20 min average). I want to be able to just walk to my car and get in and GO! I don't want to sit for over 1/2 an hour to get to my car! so, guess what...NO TIP for the valet person! I know it's not their fault, but the money grabbing has to stop somewhere! I like to jump in my car in the mornings and go visit that "Local" coffee shop or "Local" Bakery! But by the resorts doing this with your car, they have figured out a way to keep you there and use their OVERPRICED coffee and deli shops! It's a complete racket and they have you hooked! Yes, there is a "Free" shuttle service to 5 locations, but again, hurry up and wait, plus most of the stops are OWNED my Westin! The problem is, no one will stop coming because of this, so corporate greed wins again! We are DONE and won't be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are VERY small, Much better options out there...just keep looking!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KLW91062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We sincerely appreciate your kind words on our associates who take personal pride in showering our guests with genuine Hawaiian hospitality. Your valuable feedback also provides our team with a tool to improve our level of services. Allow us to explain further on the daily resort charges that cover useful amenities such as high speed Internet and Wi-Fi services, access to Westin Workout open 24 hours, two bottles of water, shuttle services to historic Lahaina town as well as digital photography as a keepsake. We are also excited to share news of our transformation project that we are calling “Holomua” meaning “Improvement, Progress & Success” in the Hawaiian language that includes the addition of a new and much needed parking facility. Please accept our heartfelt apologies for any inadvertent inconveniences and we look forward to creating an outstanding experience when your travels bring you back to Maui. Warmest Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't have anything bad to say about this place. We had a room in the Beach Tower with an awesome view of the pool and Ocean. The room was nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. The resort as a whole was awesome and I would come back in a heartbeat :-)

A couple highlights of this place:
1. Service was great
2. Location was awesome. The beach it's on is spectacular. You can swim right off the beach and see coral, fish, and turtles. Also, there are several other hotels and Whaler's Village right nest to it so you're not totally a slave to the resort.
3. Pool Slide. Our 5 year old could have gone up and down that all day.
4. Happy Hour margaritas at the bar by the pool. Enough said.

A couple Lowlights:
1. $30 per day to park the car. I mean I get it's Maui and everything is expensive, but that on top of the daily Resort fee seemed excessive. Also, sometimes it took a while to get your car from the valet. But they did bring fresh pineapple and banana bread while we waited :-)
2. People putting towels on chairs at 6am. Come on people!

All in all great place. The only reason I don't give it a 5/5 is because some things are a little dated. I would give it a 4.5/5 if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TheRendons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want an out of the way destination for your Maui visit, the Westin Maui resort fits that bill. It's about 45 minutes from the airport and a quick shuttle ride will take you to the resort. The pools are not bad, one kids pool with a pirate ship was fun for them. The beaches are long, but not big in the sense of sand to water. Only about 10 yards of sand, before you hit the water. High tide, the beach almost becomes unusable. The hotels room service was always good and service at the hotel in general was good. Not sure if I'd stay here again, I'd give it a 3 star out of 5 but I also wouldn't discourage anyone from going either.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank nzamucen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha nzamucen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. As the descriptions you had provided in the review do not quite fit Westin Maui, we look forward to receiving your contact information including dates of stay to allow us to connect with you for further clarification. Please email yourmauiexperience@westin.com at your earliest convenience. Neighboring Whalers Village, Westin Maui is centrally located on Ka'anapali Beach and offers a spacious beach setting. The pool experience at this resort includes an aquatic playground featuring five pools designed in three tiers, with the adults-only pool at the highest tier. A short drive away is our sister Westin resort on North Ka’anapali Beach where it offers a pirate ship pool area. Mahalo again for choosing Maui as your family getaway and we eagerly await your reply. Warmest Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews