We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp papaya salad ever!”
Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Ranked #29 of 197 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: fresh - local - family owned Cafe O'Lei Kihei is Maui's go to place for fresh seafood, sushi, steaks, and fresh locally-sourced cuisine. Served in a casual but elegant location in the heart of Kihei next to the beach.
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The front desk girls at our hotel recommended this local favorite in Kihei. They even recommended the macademia crusted chicken with garlic mashed potatoes. Delish! But the shrimp papaya salad, a meal in itself, was even better. Half a papaya filled with avocado, shrimp, chopped tomatoes and onions, all on a huge bed of fresh spring lettuce with a tasty vinagerette dressing. Yum!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,182 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

It was a bit crowded but still had pretty good service. Food was delicious and plentiful. The Maui onion soup was delicious, not overly salted. My husband ordered the plate special, fish crusted with panko and macadamia, served with rice, and Caesar salad. He said it was very good as evidenced by his clean plate! Planned on getting dessert, but we were too full. Easy to find and plenty of parking.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank bts4mesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

5 stars for food and cocktails - 2 stars for table location in the back corner, totally out of the loop from the main dining area and the bar. We had reservations a few days ahead and weren't just street walk ins.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We went for lunch.... had the fish lunch special of mahi mahi and the burger with fries---both cooked to perfection and were delicious. Prices were reasonable and service good. We would have come for lunch everyday of our vacation in Maui but there were too many other places we wanted to try. In hindsight, we should've eaten here more and not have gone to some of the places we did go to...food, value and service just did not live up to Cafe O Lei! Will definitely be back on next trip to Maui.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank sfgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

The food was absolutely delicious. We had the crab cakes to start and the tempura shrimp & mahi mahi. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing