We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lush surroundings and relaxed location”
other travellers have booked this property
Kolea Cottage front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space
Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Kolea Cottage Twin Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Bath/Shower room
Living Space
Kolea Cottage Lanai (porch)
Kolea Cottage fruit basket
Kolea Pawpaw!
Rest Room
Kolea Cottage Approach
Kolea Cottage with Haleakala in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alohagirl...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lush surroundings and relaxed location”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the locatrion of this rental to Hana, it was within 10 miles of all the major sites of Hana. Directions provided were perfect. This is not for someone who is not nature based. Although the bedding and towels were clean, the house was plagued with critters (ants, black bugs and geckos) which got progressively worse as our stay continued. The ants were in every room and even though we had no food, they infested my daughter's backpack because she had unknowingly set it near their ant trail. Other than that, the accommodations were perfect...the owners even left us bananas outside. There is no air conditioning but the ocean breeze and fans left the house cool. Beds were comfortable and house was spacious. Kit chen had plenty of supplies but since we were gone most of the time, it was rarely used. The owners also had a washer and dryer which we used to wash our clothes just before our trip home. It was a great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Proximity to Hana activities and property.
Liked least: Too many ants and bugs in the cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here last week with my husband, mom and brother. It was a perfect size for all 4 of us, and we had a really nice stay. The house is gorgeous and not too far from town.
Downsides - We ended up staying here for a week. This location is perfect for max 3 days, then afterwards you are just too far from the sites to really do anything. The next closest town besides Hana is Paia which is a good 2 hour drive. The really nice beaches were almost a 3 1/2 hour drive, all of the above taking the road to Hana (not for the faint of heart).
All in all the place was great, just not a fantastic location for those who are wanting to see all the amazing things Maui has to offer. Perfect if you want to enjoy relaxation in a gorgeous environment.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissac6...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real hawaii”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights with our teenage children and found the cottage to be clean, tidy and spacious. Drinks on the deck surrounded by the lush tropical gardens, while looking out over the ocean were a definite highlight. Having time to soak up the relaxed, laid back vibe of Hana (as opposed to the mad one day rush down and back that so many do) was beautiful and the cabin was located within easy reach of all the attractions. Fresh fruit, vegetables and fish had us using the well stocked kitchen.There is also the option of my daughters favourite, banana bread from one of the local fruit stands. When we mentioned to Maui locals that we were staying in Hana, the typical response was, 'ah the real Hawaii'. Overall i would certainly recommend Kolea cottage as the place to stay to get your experience of the 'Real Hawaii'. Thanks Andrew

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksandr...
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

very clean, orderly, spacious cottage and ABSOLUTELY STUNNING surrounding!! Lush, colorful jungle with chirping birds and hanging fruits. Thank you, Andrew, for letting us stay in your wonderful home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retiredgu...
Nipomo, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious home with room to spare, both inside and out”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My wife and I, along with her sister and brother-in-law, spent one night here in January, before our trip back to the mainland. We drove the Hana road one day (in heavy rain), and back to OGG the next (in beautiful sunshine). The cottage was nicer than we expected, very roomy and a great setting, with a view out to the ocean. The grounds were beautiful, and spacious. The cabin was more than we needed for one night. The owner Andrew, who lives on the grounds, stopped by to make sure we had everything we needed.

Our one regret about our stay is that we did not plan to stay longer...there is much to see and enjoy around Hana. We did not have time to explore anything beyond Hana...plus the torrential creeks prevented us from swimming in pools below all the waterfalls on that part of the island.

Keep in mind that it rains Hana, a lot..... and thus, everything felt very moist...and nothing dried out.

We were amazed at the difference that one day made on the state of several of the highly accessible waterfalls along the road to Hana...during the drive out, in the rain, the creeks were a raging torrent, and the falls looked like Niagara. The next morning, after the rain ended, the creeks were tranquil and the falls serene....incredible difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and private
Liked least: The himudity...nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing