We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
View from the lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View from the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denvergir...
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great place to stay. It was quiet and in the morning I enjoyed sitting in the screened patio listening to the ocean, the roosters and off in the distance some cows. We loved staying there. The home was clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the fruit and banana bread. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graemdaw
canberra
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“secluded cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived late in the day and after a bit of trouble finding the cottage really enjoyed the tranquility and peacefulness. The cottage has a well appointed kitchen plus a BBQ which we used. One of the bedrooms is a little cramped for a couple and there were a few mosquitoes but apart from that we had a great time visiting Oheo Gulch, the art gallery and swimming at Hamoa beach, black sand beach and Hana bay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlscottey...
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived late in the evening after our flight to Maui and subsequent road trip to Hana. We did a lot of sightseeing/stopping until we were about halfway to Hana, then we drove straight to the Cottage.

The property is just a very short drive outside Hana. The Cottage was just as expected. My wife and I took the Master Bedroom, our 20 year old daughter took the other bedroom and our 10 year old son took the couch.

We didn't rent the Cottage to stay there all day, of course. The Cottage made for a great mid-point to go back and sightsee the last half of the road to Hana and Hana its' self.

We enjoyed the openness of the cottage. The propane BBQ allowed us to cook some meat from the Hana Ranch Store.

Would definately consider staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figmolly
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little home "off" the beaten path”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed (two couples) at Hale Nanea for 6 nights. We loved the tiny, extremely clean home and enjoyed staying in Hana, but probably would divide our trip between Hana and one of the cities in West Maui if we went back. Here's a list of things we wish we had known before we went.

Positives to staying in Hana/at Hale Nanea:
- Loved the on-site washer/dryer.
- Bath and beach towels, snorkels available
- Great lanai and sunrise view (we did yoga every morning).
- Quiet (other than the cows).
- You can tackle the Hana Highway over multiple days instead of trying to cram it all into one car trip (things like the Red Sand beach should really be enjoyed for more than 15 minutes).
- It's very laid back in Hana, nice vibe.

Negatives to staying in Hana:
- Difficult to drive the highway at night (we got in at night so it was our first experience); makes for early evenings.
- Can't easily access the other side of the island (we ended up staying in/around Hana for the whole trip).
- No nightlife to speak of (may be positive or negative depending on your preference)

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utahtami
Basalt, CO
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yet another pleased guest”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here with confidence due to the high reviews. We were even more pleased than we expected. The location and privacy were wonderful. the kitchen was great. Everything was very clean and comfortable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing