We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
From the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martin w
Chittenango, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were on a cruise and had 2 days in Maui. We wanted to explore Hana and do some hiking. We decided to stay at this lovely cottage instead of driving back to the cruise ship that night since the ship was in port for two days. What a great idea and the cottage was terrific. Waking up to sounds of crashing waves and mooing cows was priceless. Enjoyed a nice breakfast on the porch with coffee and started early back to the ship.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsanurs...
Stittsville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

With breathtaking views and privacy, this place was a gem!

We checked in and the power went out, something that happens frequently on this side of the island we were told, but it was such a nice night and we didn't miss having the power (once we figured out our supper).

Fresh produce was on site including the best avocado I had ever tasted.

And that first night we opened up all the doors to the lanai and fell asleep to the breeze and the sound of the rain as it began to fall.

What a lovely place to call home for 3 nights, and Hana was by far, my favourite part of my Hawaiin experience!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd R
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Out of the Way Place”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We did the Road to Hana and wanted to actually spend the night in Hana so that we didn't rush things. We spent one night at the Koali Ranch Cottage. It was a great place to get away from everything. It has a pleasant view of the coast from a bit of a distance. It was a great location just past Hana and convenient to Waimoku Falls and the seven pools at Haleakala National Park. Our stay was brief but we loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerdeRosa
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a pleasant 2 night stay at the Koali ranch cottage- enjoying the beautiful views, and dining and relaxing on the lanai. We could have spent all day resting on the lanai watching the ocean and the cows and horses grazing in the fields!

The cottage is tastefully decorated with good kitchen and bathroom amenities. We were a bit worried about mosquitos but that didn't turn out to be a problem - we did use a citronella candle in the evenings...
The cottage is conveniently located south of Hana on the main road to the Oheo Gulch and the Pipiwai Trail. The road was quiet in the evenings and we always got a good night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lanai and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweett64
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like home!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

not sure what to expect for this place, but when we walked into the cottage, it felt wonderful! The opened screens and the fruit made a great impression! The sun is up earlier here then what we are custom. So, as to that I was awake by 5:30 every morning. The birds, cows and the sun woke me! It was ok because we had a lot to see! But by 3 pm we where ready to go to bed! I loved the walks to the mango trees and picking up the good ones for the next morning breakfast! The only negative was the road. The home is close to the road and in a curve. I would here a few honking and late night cars going through. About 2 am. That was the last night, Saturday. I am guessing it was late night dates and so on. Other then that, the bed was great, looks as though they put in a new oven. Oh , yes, could you please put a way we could get the banana bread. It was a great great for our trip to the seven pools!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor/FlipKey. Reviews are the feedback we owners need to keep in touch. Yes the road is pretty close. I am sorry the late night cruisers made so much noise. Hopefully the cattle were quieter. Thank you for staying at Koali Ranch Cottage. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing