We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sometimes the photos can be deceiving... not this...”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfrotable King Size Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfrotable King Size Bed
Spacious cottage with King size bed, kitchen, dining and living areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Comfrotable King Size Bed
Spacious cottage with King size bed, kitchen, dining and living areas
open spacious floor plan
Light, Bright and Private
Living and Dining Room
Kitchen bar
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Near HoOkipa - Maui Premier Windsurfing Area
Sprecklelsville - Baby Beach 15 min away great for little ones or a sweet lap pool in the ocean
Modern bathroom with large soaking tub and shower
Private bath
Extremely comfortable king size bed with linen bedding
Living room with skylight above for plenty of natural light and star gazing the night sky
Compact well equip ed kitchen rosemary and herb garden right outside your door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haiku, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DCReincke
Trempealeau, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sometimes the photos can be deceiving... not this one!”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My husband and I stayed at Marianne's guest cottage for 6 days. I can't say enough about how great this place is. Our priorities are clean, away from the crowds, comfortable bed, and great shower. These were met highly on all counts!

This cottage is in a local neighborhood about 10 minutes from Paia. It is on the same property as Marianne's home. I loved the eclectic style with which it was decorated. It was interesting looking at what was on the walls or on the furniture tops... fun!

One of the most comfortable King beds we've encountered in a vacation rental!

The one thing that threw us a bit was the lack of a freezer. We like our (cold) drinks after being out and about all day, which usually involves a blender and some ice. Marianne was quite accommodating in emptying an ice tray into a metal bowl for us each day when we returned, which gave us plenty for the evening.

If you don't like crowds and tourist traffic... don't go down to Paia. If you like great food, visit the food trucks in Haiku... especially the Greek one. The top of Haleakala was only about an hour away. Again, if you don't like crowds, get going anywhere early. Leave for the road to Hana by 9:00 AM or preferably sooner. If you want to go to a beach that is not crowded, there are many places to pull over near Olowalu around mile marker 14.

Thanks Marianne. We loved your place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thanks Kathy so much we loved having you guys it was a pleasure to have you around we love experience Travelers like yourselves hope to see you again soon aloha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Tropical Bungalow”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 days in the most quaint tropical bungalow. Gary and Marianne were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. After adventuring during the day time, it was an escape to come back "home" and fall asleep to the sound of rain. I felt like I was in a tropical rain forest. I can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Aloha Jennifer,
We enjoyed hosting you and your guest we hope to see you return to Maui soon!!!
Blessings,
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannier8...
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A magical spot upcountry, my favorite Maui get away!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at the Kokomo Maui Jewel many times and consider it my own. The owner Marianne & Gary are super nice and helpful only when needed. The Ohana is set back from the road and allows for a peaceful nights sleep. I look forward to my next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Mahalo Jeannier,
It was our pleasure to host you, we always look forward to your visits with us. Until next time Aloha!!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see Maui”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Maui Jewel gives you a truly unique Hawaiian experience on Maui that is away from the resorts but convenient to see all of Maui. The cottage is located in upcountry Maui, close to the towns of Makawao, Haiku, and Paia. There are lots of great restaurants and shops in these towns. We especially loved Paia, where the "road to Hana" begins. This is a must-do day trip on Maui, and Gary and Marianne leave you a self-guided CD for the trek. (if you do this journey, which you definitely should, make sure you go all the way around the island instead of turning back at Hana if you vehicle can handle the terrain. we caught the most amazing sunset on the way back overlooking southwest Maui, Lanai, and Molokini)

We also did the Mt. Haleakala sunrise trek from the cottage. It was about an hour's drive from there. You're getting up early regardless if you do this, but at least from the cottage you're a little closer than the resorts.

Gary and Marianne were very accommodating. They gave us a tour of the rental upon arrival, and they provided many great restaurant recommendations that did not let us down. We were so happy to have such wonderful hosts.

Finally, the cottage itself was very clean, well maintained, and looks exactly like their pictures. Everything about it felt truly Hawaiian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and experience of staying in a neighborhood instead of a resort
Liked least: It was DARK at night. Better outdoor lighting could help when arriving back late at night or leaving before sunrise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing