We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,384)
Filter reviews
7,384 results
Traveller rating
5,433
1,301
416
148
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,433
1,301
416
148
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river salt water lagoon ilima terrace poipu wing tidepools restaurant stevenson's library our honeymoon adult pool breakfast buffet tide pools pool area four seasons shipwreck beach self parking sushi beautiful property open air
Filter
Updating list...
2,887 - 2,892 of 7,384 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The Grand Hyatt on Kauai is beautiful, and so picture perfect. As soon as you step onto the lobby, it frames the sunset and beach. Stunning.

We had the king suite, and it was to die for. It was huge with a room, huge bathroom with standup and jacuzzi, toilet with a bidet!, a huge living room that opened up to the lanai that had an ocean view.

There are many eating choices on the property, we happened to be there during Easter and the buffet at the golf course was amazing.

After we checked out, our flight wasn't till later. They have amazing pools and coves and slides you can relax till your flight. And a lounge with video games, tv, snacks, showers, the works that you can use till you go to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steggasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Great location on the sunny side of Kauai. Impeccable grounds. Great food. Attentive staff. Easy self parking. We were given probably the worst room of the hotel. 4047 IIRC? Changed to a better room, although the request to change process was a little painful. New room had a finicky AC. Rest of the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Tri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

By their food selections in their "included" breakfast buffet, you wouldn't even know you were in Hawaii. The location is wonderful and fun during whale season, but aside from that the per day cost is a HUGE waste of money.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
4  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Aloha Julie L,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback. I'm sorry to see that you were not satisfied with our breakfast buffet offering. We always try our best to source local ingredients, because we understand that when guests come to Hawaii they expect to try those type of flavors. I will be sure to pass along your message to our Food and Beverage team so that we may further enhance that experience for all of our guests. I'm glad you were able to visit us during this whale season as well. They have been very active this year! Hopefully we get to see you soon.

A hui hou,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

The resort is located in a beautiful area of the island. Functioning of the resort was good, but it would be nice if the hotel had airport shuttle accommodations - or perhaps a reduced taxi rate for guests.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Aloha Nancy K,

Mahalo for the review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay in Poipu with us. Being on such a small island has its benefits and disadvantages. Unfortunately, there are not enough taxi or shuttle operators to provide a discounted rate to our guests. We do understand that there is a need for that and we hope to improve upon that in the future. Nonetheless, I hope you enjoyed your stay and that we see you again soon.

A hui hou,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We spent 6 days at this lovely resort and everything about it was terrific. We were upgraded to a suite at the far western part of this sprawling resort and had a lovely view of the ocean. It was a long (10-minute) walk to the main area where the restaurants, pools and activities were located but we enjoyed strolling outside. The service was exemplary, including check-in, housekeeping, parking, concierge, restaurants and on-site vendors. The pools (there are many) were relaxing, clean and made up for the fact that at least during our 6 days the ocean was off limits for swimming. However, it's about a 30 minute walk (short drive) to Poipu Beach which was great for swimming, especially for children. We loved our lei greeting, had great meals at Stevenson's and Donderos restaurants on site, and our package included the amazing breakfast buffet in the Ilima Terrace dining area. In fact, there were a few mornings when we could see whales and porpoises out in the ocean from our breakfast table. And the breakfast staff were, without exception, the friendliest people. My only complaint is too few outlets for our devices and no hooks in the bathroom to hang wet towels to dry and reuse (although there was a very useful retractable clothing line where we let our wet swimsuits dry out). If you want to stay in a luxurious spot in Poipu Beach, this is the place.

Room Tip: Lovely suite in 3008, but it's a 10-minute walk to the pools and restaurants. Very quiet, nice lanai and extremely spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews